Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This recipe needs a couple additions and a little change, first you need to add two slices of bread to the mixture, a 1/4 teaspoon of salt or substitute you make into 4 large patties and after patties are made you need to dip them in flour to coat and fry in Crisco Vegetable oil, fry them and add salt and pepper after they are in the frying pan along with MSG, fry until golden brown on each side, I only need two, so after they are cooked I freeze the other two and just heat up in oven when you need an extra fish dinner. Spray tin foil with Pam put frozen cakes in oven, spray with Pam on top and cook at 350 for 30 minutes,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Added Old Bay. These didn't stick together, so I ended up making one big patty. Tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
these are excellent! I added come almond flour and some coconut flour to thicken up the batter and pan fried them in ghee/clarified butter. They were very tasty, topped with a lemon/mayonnaise dip and some grilled onions. highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I have never tried salmon cakes before, but my husband loves them so I decided to give it a try. These turned out very good! Very easy to prepare and cook. A couple of the patties started to all apart a little bit, but I just smooshed them back together again and they were fine. If you like salmon I would give them a try for something a little bit different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
These salmon cakes were so good! I followed the recipe -however, I used two 6 ounce cans of boneless and skinless salmon from Costco, their Kirkland brand instead of one 13 ounce can, and added a tablespoon full of cornstarch to the mixture. The salmon cakes were mild and had a very delicate flavor. I followed the advice of others who rated this recipe and was patient and didn't turn them until they were well browned giving the eggs the chance to do their binding job. The cakes stayed together, they were crispy and yummy! This recipe has made a salmon cake lover out of my very reluctant husband. He even ate the left over ones in a sandwich the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Awesome! Very quick and easy, my kids loved and they never like anything! My modifications: , I used 5 Hawaiian roles, shredded. It thickened and added sweet flavor. I sauted onions and sweet corn in pan with olive oil while cooking the patties and I added 1/4 sweet curry and old bay seasoning. Awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transformedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes' Haiku: "These cakes surprised me! I was wary, but loved them. A tad bit soggy." I've never made a salmon patty w/o crushed crackers, breadcrumb, flour, or some sort of additional dry binder, so I was nervous of following the recipe as written. The only thing that I did differently was to add some garlic powder, but really, these turned out great, albeit, a little soggy and difficult to shape and flip. So while they didn't hold up that well, and I did fry mine for longer than 5 min. per side to acheive maximum crispy goodness, the taste was awesome, and better yet, dipped into ketchup mixed w/ sriracha. Had a leftover patty which I patty-melted in a sandwich w/ tomato, pickles and provolone - now THAT I will thank Grandma for. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
The name rings true! My Dad asked for salmon cakes at Christmas dinner because his Grandma used to make them every Christmas. I used this recipe, only I used about half as much onion and substituted the other half for potato. Sure enough, he said they were just like his Grandma's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very easy and very tasty. I love the simplicity. I halved the recipe and got two larger cakes from a 6 oz can of salmon. I did add cajun seasoning. Served over rice with a runny egg over the top. At the start it looks like it will never hold together. Resist the urge to touch the cake and watch as the eggs firm up to hold it all together. Don't flip until the bottom is browned and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South New Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Perfect! No bread and they came out perfect! i I doubled the recipe, prepared it in the morning and let it rest in the fridge until dinner. Servred with a sauce of mayo and Old Bay seasoning. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States