Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
just like my mom made them .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdrop1757

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very nice flavour made just as is. Next time I will add a little lemon jce and maybe some hot sauce and Worcestershire just to add a little zing. The nice part is it needs no fillers! When you are tempted to flip them, wait another minute or two until they are nice and brown; they will not fall apart! Served with tangy coleslaw is very nice, in fact my son put a cake on a bun, and topped with coleslaw. Just a side note, this will not feed four hungry people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I was looking for a salmon cake recipe that did not use a dry filler . . . and this one was delicious. I did add a couple of tablespoons of dry mustard and some granulated garlic to this before I cooked it, but I think the recipe would have been good without those additions. Also, I baked these on a baking stone at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, flipped them over and baked them for another 5 minutes to make sure they were crispy. I would probably like them fried, but I hate babysitting anything sitting on my stove top, so I will slam almost anything I can into my oven. This recipe is going into my regular dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
TOO DARN GOOD! Can be spiced up in different ways according to mood or side dishes. Just too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I was skeptical about this recipe because there are so few ingredients, but decided to try it based on all of the reviews. The only addition I made was about 1/4 cup of light Bisquick mix. My husband, who rarely raves about anything made with canned salmon, thought it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trebleclef
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very delicious, delicate flavor ! I tried baking them like other readers suggested, they came out moist and stayed firmed up without adding the extra oil. Perfect for low-carb, gluten free, or low sugar diets! I served mine over brown rice with some hot sauce, and some spicy slaw. YUM. Dinner in under an hour and cheap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This recipe needs a couple additions and a little change, first you need to add two slices of bread to the mixture, a 1/4 teaspoon of salt or substitute you make into 4 large patties and after patties are made you need to dip them in flour to coat and fry in Crisco Vegetable oil, fry them and add salt and pepper after they are in the frying pan along with MSG, fry until golden brown on each side, I only need two, so after they are cooked I freeze the other two and just heat up in oven when you need an extra fish dinner. Spray tin foil with Pam put frozen cakes in oven, spray with Pam on top and cook at 350 for 30 minutes,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Added Old Bay. These didn't stick together, so I ended up making one big patty. Tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
these are excellent! I added come almond flour and some coconut flour to thicken up the batter and pan fried them in ghee/clarified butter. They were very tasty, topped with a lemon/mayonnaise dip and some grilled onions. highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I have never tried salmon cakes before, but my husband loves them so I decided to give it a try. These turned out very good! Very easy to prepare and cook. A couple of the patties started to all apart a little bit, but I just smooshed them back together again and they were fine. If you like salmon I would give them a try for something a little bit different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States