Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Good, but not very exciting. Held together well, fried up nicely, tasted good, but not something I would serve company. I love a simple recipe, but this could use a little bit of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yum! I hadn't made salmon cakes in about 25 years, but this recipe caught my eye and my daughter and I and her girlfriend LOVED them...easy and quick and worked like a charm! Nice cheap meal that we all liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
These were very good! I changed it up a little though. I left out the onion and just used minced onion. I also seasoned the salmon with garlic powder and old bay. After forming them into patties, I put flours on the outside and then refrigerated them for about 20 minutes. This kept them from falling apart when frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this last night and was amazed at how easy and deelish it was! The only thing I added was a little lemon juice and some Old Bay seasoning. Will be having this once a week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
just like my mom made them .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdrop1757

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very nice flavour made just as is. Next time I will add a little lemon jce and maybe some hot sauce and Worcestershire just to add a little zing. The nice part is it needs no fillers! When you are tempted to flip them, wait another minute or two until they are nice and brown; they will not fall apart! Served with tangy coleslaw is very nice, in fact my son put a cake on a bun, and topped with coleslaw. Just a side note, this will not feed four hungry people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I was looking for a salmon cake recipe that did not use a dry filler . . . and this one was delicious. I did add a couple of tablespoons of dry mustard and some granulated garlic to this before I cooked it, but I think the recipe would have been good without those additions. Also, I baked these on a baking stone at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, flipped them over and baked them for another 5 minutes to make sure they were crispy. I would probably like them fried, but I hate babysitting anything sitting on my stove top, so I will slam almost anything I can into my oven. This recipe is going into my regular dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
TOO DARN GOOD! Can be spiced up in different ways according to mood or side dishes. Just too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I was skeptical about this recipe because there are so few ingredients, but decided to try it based on all of the reviews. The only addition I made was about 1/4 cup of light Bisquick mix. My husband, who rarely raves about anything made with canned salmon, thought it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trebleclef
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very delicious, delicate flavor ! I tried baking them like other readers suggested, they came out moist and stayed firmed up without adding the extra oil. Perfect for low-carb, gluten free, or low sugar diets! I served mine over brown rice with some hot sauce, and some spicy slaw. YUM. Dinner in under an hour and cheap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States