Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I used this recipe as a guideline for my Salmon Cakes, they turned out great. I added some additional seasoning mixing in some Parmesan cheese into the patty, and coating the outside of the patties with Italian breadcrumbs to give it a nice golden, crisp coating on each side. Then I fried them up on a griddle. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe is very close to what I make. I use the salmon pouches and add cracker crumbs.Top it with a dollop of horseradish sauce for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
OMG!!! I tried these tonight and they came out great. I added some garlic powder, red pepper seasoning, dill, little bit of unflavored bread crumbs and lemon pepper , had some jasmine rice on the side and this was a great dinner in a little bit of time. This made me think Iam actually learning to cook at 44:) Almost forgot I put the cakes in the oven for 30 minutes instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I liked this recipe but I did add some Italian bread crumbs for seasoning and to make the recipe less runny. All in all my family liked and has requested I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Great basic recipe. You can make it as is or add more ingredients. I added crushed crackers and a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Pretty darned good. I usually add cornbread as a filler to my salmon patties, but I'm trying to cut gluten out of my diet so I tried this recipe. It was a little too watery so I added about 1/4 cup ground oatmeal (just put oatmeal in my food processor for a few seconds). The taste was great so even without the oatmeal I'm sure it would have been just as tasty, but It seemed a little too watery without a filler of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Added 1/4 cup of flour then baked at 375 for 20-30 min turning once. Would have been better with potato flakes. Quick and good but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShesSoCami

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Good, but not very exciting. Held together well, fried up nicely, tasted good, but not something I would serve company. I love a simple recipe, but this could use a little bit of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yum! I hadn't made salmon cakes in about 25 years, but this recipe caught my eye and my daughter and I and her girlfriend LOVED them...easy and quick and worked like a charm! Nice cheap meal that we all liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
These were very good! I changed it up a little though. I left out the onion and just used minced onion. I also seasoned the salmon with garlic powder and old bay. After forming them into patties, I put flours on the outside and then refrigerated them for about 20 minutes. This kept them from falling apart when frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States