Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The kids love it... it's a easy way to get fish in their diet. I took the other review advise and added the I also took alittle extra time to remove as many bones as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Simple, but kind of boring - not very flavorful and didn't stick together well. I will be trying a different recipe next time I make salmon cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
yumm i added bell pepper,onion,garlic powder also added pinch of sugar to remove can taste as another reviewer suggested tasted good yet i think i will try using corn flakes next time as they really werent so crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is a good basic recipe, identical to the one I've made for years except that I put just enough crushed crackers or soft bread crumbs (whatever is on hand) to hold together. Otherwise, it just falls apart and is difficult to work with. Tried it this way, though, just to see and it didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
We loved this recipe. But I added dill weed, lemon pepper. Used seasoned bread crumbs. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Read the reviews and many people added bread crumbs etc.... however, this is the BEST recipe for a very low-carb salmon cake for we "low-carbers". I've added some green pepper and spices but good the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Easy to make but very bland as is. After tasting the mix, I felt the need to add cumin, garlic powder, and a little italian seasoning. The mixture was also very wet, so I added a very small amount of italian flavoured bread crumbs. I then baked them at 350° for 8 minutes on each side instead of frying. All in all, a simple healthy meal, but nothing earth-shattering. Oh! And you will definitely need some sort of sauce as they are a little dry. One more note...Instead of picking out the bones, I simply broke them up while I was breaking up the meat. It only took a little extra effort to break it all up to make the bones undetectable and they are an excellent source of calcium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Excellent recipe. A whole onion even a small one was a bit much so I only use half. Other than that no changes were made and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
These are incredible. I did add a jalepeno pepper, cored,de-seeded and chopped, a 1/4 cup bread crumbs and celery seed. My mom always served salmon patties and chicken crocettes with cream peas over the top so I did this too. Could not have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
this recipe may look too simple but the taste was out of this world and better yet you have all these ingredient in your cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States