Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
It was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly; I made sure oil was nice & hot. Loved that the great salmon taste was not diffused with flour or bread crumbs. Thanks so much for sharing your grandmas recipe. For my next batch, I'll add cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
basic and easy! great recipe for a quick meal! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darnell Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
First time using canned salmon - after I got past the cleaning and deboning of the fish, it was smooth sailing! I was amazed that we couldn't even notice the smaller bones! I only used one egg, added a tbsp of may and the Old Bay, per other reviewers, and rolled my patties in bread crumbs and baked. This receipe was a hit! Would also be easy to make the night before and just bake when ready. Will try other salmon cake recipes on this site but give this one 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shawanda jones
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawanda jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was also my grandmothers recipe and although it is simple, it's all you need to have a great cake. You can add all the seasonings you want but I feel like it just takes away from the salmon flavor. Good. Basic. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheera Lowe
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I didn't add any onions. And I added a half of a handful of seasoned bread crumbs to hold it. Delicious. Oh yeah I also added two pinches of white sugar to take a away that can fish taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZ DANIELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a very basic, boring and bland recipe. Good for a new cook or someone who likes food on the bland side. But its definitely good to use as a base to build on. I chopped green onions, fresh basil and parsley, red and green peppers and fresh garlic. I took these and sauteed them in a tiny bit of olive oil before adding them to the salmon mixture. The canned salmon is pre cooked and doesnt take long to get crispy in a pan so by cooking the ingredients before adding them it released an amazing amount of flavor that otherwise wouldn't have been possible. I also added some red pepper flakes because I like everything a bit spicy. Definitely try this recipe but add your own flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Great base recipe. I added 4tbs flour like other users suggested and a pinch of old bay. Next time I will add salt and use less black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States