Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
First time using canned salmon - after I got past the cleaning and deboning of the fish, it was smooth sailing! I was amazed that we couldn't even notice the smaller bones! I only used one egg, added a tbsp of may and the Old Bay, per other reviewers, and rolled my patties in bread crumbs and baked. This receipe was a hit! Would also be easy to make the night before and just bake when ready. Will try other salmon cake recipes on this site but give this one 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shawanda jones
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawanda jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was also my grandmothers recipe and although it is simple, it's all you need to have a great cake. You can add all the seasonings you want but I feel like it just takes away from the salmon flavor. Good. Basic. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheera Lowe
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I didn't add any onions. And I added a half of a handful of seasoned bread crumbs to hold it. Delicious. Oh yeah I also added two pinches of white sugar to take a away that can fish taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZ DANIELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a very basic, boring and bland recipe. Good for a new cook or someone who likes food on the bland side. But its definitely good to use as a base to build on. I chopped green onions, fresh basil and parsley, red and green peppers and fresh garlic. I took these and sauteed them in a tiny bit of olive oil before adding them to the salmon mixture. The canned salmon is pre cooked and doesnt take long to get crispy in a pan so by cooking the ingredients before adding them it released an amazing amount of flavor that otherwise wouldn't have been possible. I also added some red pepper flakes because I like everything a bit spicy. Definitely try this recipe but add your own flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Great base recipe. I added 4tbs flour like other users suggested and a pinch of old bay. Next time I will add salt and use less black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My Mom always added cornmeal but I am on a low carb diet so was excited when I found this recipe. Followed the recipe and chilled the patties for 30 min. They didn't fall apart and cooked-up just as crunchy as my Mom's. They were pretty darn good. Liked the onion. Will spice it up a bit next time. Yep...a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Pell
Home Town: Westfield, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Next time I would use the suggestions about adding a quarter cup of flour to the mixture to help it stick together. But it was fabulous! Here is what I DID do: Added thyme, dill & Worcestershire sauce. I sprayed a baking pan heavily with Pam, placed the patties, which I rolled in a bit of flour, onto the baking pan, then sprayed each patty with Pam. I baked in a 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes, turning once. Even my picky eater ate all of what was on his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States