Grandma's English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2000
I made the bread in the machine & then shaped it & put it in 2, 11.5oz coffee cans that were well greased and coated with cornmeal. Covered & let rise about an hour & 10mins. Baked at 400- 35 to 40 mins. Stephanie is right..toasted it's PRIMO !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This is the only bread I make now. Instead of making two loaves, I use one 9x5 bread pan and often times I leave out the cornmeal. It turns out wonderful every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
This is in response to Reviewer Selea. This is Stephanie, this is my recipe & my photo. I baked the bread in a large greased & floured CAN, as I said my grandmother used to do. When it was cool, I sliced & toasted it. It's bread, just baked in a can instead of a traditional bread pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Was disappointed that this came out too dense, not like the airy English muffins I know. The holes in the muffin didn't come out big. However, it still tastes good after toasting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe! It is so easy and delicious. Last year I made it to give to friends and neighbors with a small jar of jam (and directions to toast) for a holiday gift. I can't emphasize enough to toast and butter each slice. It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This bread was just delicious! I made it for my family and they loved it! It tastes just like bakery fresh english muffins and it was easy to make and clean up after. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Flavor was very good! Only problem I had was it didn't raise very high, so I didn't have a real textured bread. This recipe is worth a second try though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
OH MY GOSH!!! Delicious. Definitely toast it though. Great with butter and whipped honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
English Muffin Bread is always tasty and wonderful! The recipe specifies bread pans, the picture shows English Muffins, not bread baked in loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This bread is so good, and does taste like English muffins! I didn't use this with a bread machine, and just kneaded it in my Kitchenaide. Excellent recipe! Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States