Grandma's English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
i have never tasted such good english muffin bread...followed the instructions for bread machine dough cycle then formed it into a french loaf type loaf ... let it rise for 40 mins and baked in 325 oven for 25 minutes...it rose even more when baking and it is so lite and fluffy and tasty...i sprinkled cornmeal on the baking sheet before i put the dough on it...man oh man...a new fave bread recipe... thanks grandma!!!update...since i REALLY like this bread and make it often i thought i would try and make english muffins from the dough and am i glad i did...i rolled the dough to about 1/4 - 1/2 inch thick and let it rest covered for about 10 minutes, then cut out six 3 1/2 inch circles and placed them on parchment sprinkled with cornmeal...rolled up the rest of the dough into a little loaf and put it in my small loaf pan...i put into the oven with the light on and let rise for about 1/2 hour...baked the muffins in the oven at 350 for about 8 minutes and flipped over and baked the second side the same...they also rose abit more while baking...and the little loaf of bread i baked at 350 for about 20 minutes...well am i glad i did that...the BEST english muffins i have ever made...THEY EVEN HAD NOOKS AND CRANNIES and were lite on the inside and a bit chewy on the outside...just as we like them...and the little loaf of bread turned out like the others i made from this recipe...THANKS SO MUCH AGAIN for this recipe...really no need for me to try any others!!!! june 26th...i subbed bu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Can you give a recipe less than 1 star? I wish! I don't know what magic a bread machine conjures to make this palatable, but when trying to make this the "old-fashioned way" it ain't a happenin' thing. I made this the same way I have made other breads (with much success) but this one was a tough, doughy monster that didn't want to come together. When it did, it was chewy in dough form and totally unpalatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I don't understand. Maybe you can't make it without a bread maker. I tried it with my kitchenaid dough hook and I proofed the yeast first... it hardly rose at all. I have flat bread. It looks ridiculous. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This bread is wonderful! I used to buy english muffins every few days and make breakfast sandwiches for my family. I'm never buying them again. I used the coffee can idea, and like another reviewer i made the mistake of using a can with a lip. To get the bread out I simply opened the other end of the can with a can opener, cut the bubbly round top off the bread and it came right out the bottom. We snacked on the golden top while it was fresh and the perfectly circular bread has been making sanwiches. 20 minutes in the oven worked for me.***** NOTE FOR BAKING IN CANS WITH LIPS. I found that the cans with lips can be easily rid of the lips with a can opener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe has become a staple in my household. It makes 8 english muffin rings plus up to three more "muffins". I make this recipe atleast 2x a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
i make this everyday, with my kids two a day aren't enough! what an excellent recipe. i mix my ingredients roll the two breads in cornmeal,shape like a baguette and bake them on my bread stone until golden. FANTASTIC!! of course toast,use homemade butter and homemade jam or jelly the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I made this recipe entirely in my bread machine. It is delicious. My daughter & son are visiting from out of town and enjoyed this so much that I will be making a loaf tomorrow for them to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Very good recipe, but I baked for 10 minutes as the directions instructed, and It would have been mush had I not put it back in the oven. Probably baked more like 25 minutes. Very English muffin like. I think the trick is to avoid working the dough as it was full of air pockets and very light once it came out of the bread maker. Also allowing it to rise (turn the oven on and place over the vent burner) is very important to avoid having a dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is *wonderful*. I make English muffins with it by cutting into six pieces, making balls of dough, then slightly flattening them on top. FANTASTIC. I cannot have pre-made English muffins due to allergies, so this was doubley-good for me - it's been ages since I had an English muffin!!! Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Taste is great, will make again. More of a batter bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States