Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this recipe for Easter and it was a big hit with the whole family. I took the suggestions from the other reviews and used 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 water 1/2 strong coffee. I used a bundt pan and it baked for almost an hour before the pick came out clean. I served it with raspberry sauce, fresh raspberries and lots of powdered sugar. It was very moist and delicious! I will make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was a good cake and it turned out beautifully light, fluffy, and moist but the flavor was very plain. (we didn't put any frosting on it) I did however like the economy involved in the recipe and felt it was a great result of ingenuity and would make it again for my large family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by APRIL2082
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I scaled the recipe into half of amount and baked in Bundt pan. It turned out great with great texture - very moist and soft, but the taste is a little dull without any icing on it. I should've followed other review and substitute water to coffee. I will bake this cake again whenever I am out of butter/eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I was out of eggs and decided to try this recipe out...and it tastes great! I am not sure what other reviewers found unappealing but I like this batter and it was easy to make. I added two extra tablespoons of cocoa because of other reviews, apple cider instead of white vinegar, half white and half brown sugar, added some chocolate chips, and used apple sauce instead of oil. This batter made 30 cupcakes...and took about 25 minutes in my oven. I frosted the cupcakes with store-bought frosting and I know my students and colleagues will never know what they are missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Thank goodness I had a container of chocolate frosting. I melted it in the microwave, poked holes in the cake and poured it on. Otherwise, I would've threw the cake away. I thought it would be similar to a "wacky cake" but it wasn't. It took around 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have been looking for this recipe for years. ONE TIP: Sub 1 cup of the water for dark black coffee. It gives the cake a much richer taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Braddock

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Not especially good but not horrible. I'm trying to find our old standby recipe that got lost but this isn't it. It took 40 minutes to bake, not 20-25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
It worked! I have a family with MULTIPLE allergies and it's hard to find recipes for good baked goods. I made these cupcakes for my daughter's birthday and was able to make a few substitutes. First- 2 cups Bob's Red Mill- Gluten Free/Dairy Free All purpose Baking Flour, 1 cup Brown Rice Flour. Then because of Dairy Allergies-substituted Dark Choc Cocoa, and then 1 cup Brown Sugar and 1 cup white sugar. Now, it was not as moist as reported, but in comparison to all Gluten Free/Dairy Free cakes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe makes an excellent cake! I've made it many, many times, and each time it turns out AMAZING! Personally, I add a pinch of salt to the dry ingredients and choc. chips to the batter at the end. DELICIOUS! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loverofbaking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was very good i made cupcakes they turn out great i use the wedding cake frosting very good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baskerville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States