Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Wow-I was surprised at how good this was. I made this just because I was out of eggs, but now I'll make it again cause it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
What gives this cake flavor is the SALT, which this recipe omits, vinegar, and of course the chocolate. I actually have this recipe from a vegan cookbook and the differences are: 8 TBSP Cocoa instead of 6; 3tsp Vanilla instead of 2; and 1 full tsp of salt! I love the recipe I already have and think I will stick with it, but this one is good as well and would be particularly useful for those who are also watching their salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
a good staple recipe - i had both eggs & butter in the house but when you bake a lot, they go fast! it was nice to not have to use some. i replaced the oil with applesauce & realized at the last minute that i was out of baking soda, so i tossed in another 2 tsp of baking powder. the cake turned out good - heavy & moist although i think next time i will add extra vanilla or another extract - the flavor was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Fitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
It's ok... My cake came out wonderful, but a bit lack of taste. I think I prefer cake with egg and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I took the advice of some other people to add salt. It was delicious!!! I also added a full tablespoon of vanilla. Very moist and chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
great recipe, easy to make and bake!!!! =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolitaGDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I made this for my milk/egg/peanut allergic son's birthday. I got 29 cupcakes that were done when I checked them at 16 minutes (and maybe even before). The first test batch was 3-4 stars. It was just OK, similar to a boxed mix...edible, but not great. Then I made again and used 2/3 c. cocoa powder and added 1tsp salt, 1 generous tsp of instant coffee grounds, and 1 package of pudding powder. The cupcakes were dense (but not too dense), flavorful, and moist with these changes. Frosted with a non-dairy buttercream, yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Wow, just wow. I'm so impressed with how this recipe turned out. I was so hesitant while preparing it, and the vinegar gave it such a weird smell before baking. I also substituted applesauce for the oiland added chocolate chips. The finished product was a big hit for my Easter dinner. No one believed it had no eggs, oil or butter. And it tasted even the next day out the fridge. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this recipe for Easter and it was a big hit with the whole family. I took the suggestions from the other reviews and used 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 water 1/2 strong coffee. I used a bundt pan and it baked for almost an hour before the pick came out clean. I served it with raspberry sauce, fresh raspberries and lots of powdered sugar. It was very moist and delicious! I will make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was a good cake and it turned out beautifully light, fluffy, and moist but the flavor was very plain. (we didn't put any frosting on it) I did however like the economy involved in the recipe and felt it was a great result of ingenuity and would make it again for my large family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States