Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I really did not like this cake and I do not recommend it. I baked it for my friend who has allergies and... was very dissapointed. The cake is not very flavorful and has a strange aftertaste. I have tried lactose and egg free cakes before so I know that there really yummy recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mammacass72
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a good chocolate cake recipe! Very simple and moist. I followed it almost to a tee, but add another teaspoon of vanilla and half a cup of chocolate chips and half a cup of peppermint chips. Think I shall not add the peppermint chips next time, but this would taste excellent at Christmas with some chocolate sauce and vanilla ice cream. This one is a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammacass72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Wonderful! Who would EVER think -less cake was so tasty & moist! I did modify the recipe a bit based on previous reviews to the following: split the sugar between white and brown (1 cup each), 3 teaspoons of vanilla, and added 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. Made cupcakes with the batter filling liners 2/3 full and bake for 15 min, let cool in muffin pan for 2 min then move to cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this cake today and am totally impressed. For a cake with no eggs or dairy, this was excellent! It's a very deep dark chocolate color, too, which I like. I increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup and the oil to 3/4 cup. I also used coffee instead of plain hot water as it enhances the chocolate flavor. Oh, I left out the baking powder too as I didn't have any; it rose nicely anyway! Nice to know that I can still make a great layer cake when I don't have eggs in the house! Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It is tasteless...nothing moist about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Can't even tell there are no egg/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I have made many vegan cakes and this one tops them all. I usually only make them for my son since he is the one with the allergies. The whole family actually liked this cake and it stayed moist and we just love this recipe, Thank You :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I got this recipe from my grandma and used it in my childrens' church room because of a child allergic to eggs. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My first attempt at making vegan cake and it was fairly easy. My friend makes this cake all the time with a few changes and of course I had to follow… Added ¼ teaspoon of salt and used 1 cup of cocoa. Served with balsamic strawberries from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great cake! I found this recipe while searching for an allergen-free strawberry shortcake. It was my bday and I wanted to make a cake that was free of the stuff my 2 1/2 year old is allergic to so he can have cake too, and not apple pie like usual. This was perfect, very moist and yummy considering it's missing butter and eggs. I omitted the cocoa powder for a white cake and it was still good. Watching my baby devour cake and icing was the best bday gift! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pali Niania?

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States