Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have been looking for this recipe for years. ONE TIP: Sub 1 cup of the water for dark black coffee. It gives the cake a much richer taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Not especially good but not horrible. I'm trying to find our old standby recipe that got lost but this isn't it. It took 40 minutes to bake, not 20-25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
It worked! I have a family with MULTIPLE allergies and it's hard to find recipes for good baked goods. I made these cupcakes for my daughter's birthday and was able to make a few substitutes. First- 2 cups Bob's Red Mill- Gluten Free/Dairy Free All purpose Baking Flour, 1 cup Brown Rice Flour. Then because of Dairy Allergies-substituted Dark Choc Cocoa, and then 1 cup Brown Sugar and 1 cup white sugar. Now, it was not as moist as reported, but in comparison to all Gluten Free/Dairy Free cakes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe makes an excellent cake! I've made it many, many times, and each time it turns out AMAZING! Personally, I add a pinch of salt to the dry ingredients and choc. chips to the batter at the end. DELICIOUS! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loverofbaking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe was very good i made cupcakes they turn out great i use the wedding cake frosting very good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baskerville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Soooooo good with vanilla ice cream (for those who aren't lactose intolerant). I baked it for my egg/peanut allergic son. I didn't think that such cakes could taste good. It was so moist and chocolaty. I cut back the sugar to 1.5C with 0.5C of brown and rest white. Added 1/2tsp salt and several handful of chocolate chips. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I needed to make a dairy-free dessert for a family and saw this cake. I had all of the ingredients on hand and baked it in my bunt pan for about 40 mins at 350. I turned out really nice and I simply dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Really good and moist, i used normal cocoa because i didnt have the baking variety, also a little cinnamon and vanilla extract. also used half brown sugar and half white. came out great and served with strawberries and topped with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I had to bake the cake for 40 minutes. I have no allergies, I was just curious about this cake. It turned out great. A great chocolate flavor without being too sweet. I did add a 1/4 tsp of salt as others suggested and used olive oil because it is the only oil I keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is excellent. You cannot even tell its eggless and dairy-less. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States