Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this cake today and am totally impressed. For a cake with no eggs or dairy, this was excellent! It's a very deep dark chocolate color, too, which I like. I increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup and the oil to 3/4 cup. I also used coffee instead of plain hot water as it enhances the chocolate flavor. Oh, I left out the baking powder too as I didn't have any; it rose nicely anyway! Nice to know that I can still make a great layer cake when I don't have eggs in the house! Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It is tasteless...nothing moist about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Can't even tell there are no egg/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I have made many vegan cakes and this one tops them all. I usually only make them for my son since he is the one with the allergies. The whole family actually liked this cake and it stayed moist and we just love this recipe, Thank You :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I got this recipe from my grandma and used it in my childrens' church room because of a child allergic to eggs. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My first attempt at making vegan cake and it was fairly easy. My friend makes this cake all the time with a few changes and of course I had to follow… Added ¼ teaspoon of salt and used 1 cup of cocoa. Served with balsamic strawberries from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great cake! I found this recipe while searching for an allergen-free strawberry shortcake. It was my bday and I wanted to make a cake that was free of the stuff my 2 1/2 year old is allergic to so he can have cake too, and not apple pie like usual. This was perfect, very moist and yummy considering it's missing butter and eggs. I omitted the cocoa powder for a white cake and it was still good. Watching my baby devour cake and icing was the best bday gift! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pali Niania?

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was a great cake. I double sifted the flour to ensure it would be light and fluffy. I also wanted a white chocolate chip cake so I simply replaced the Cocoa powder with more all purpose flour and then added my dairy free Chocolate chips and a whole vanilla bean, scraped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Excellent cake after some minor changes/additions. I made this one night when I was craving chocolate cake, but was out of eggs. I added about 1/4 t. of salt and 6 heaping T. cocoa powder. I also added 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate (according to the directions on my can of my Saco unsweetened cocoa powder) because I had no chocolate chips. I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil and one cup of milk for one cup of the water. This cake took about twice as long to cook as the recipe suggests. Once I took it out of the oven I poked holes all over and generously coated the top with Hershey's chocolate syrup. Three days later this cake is still more moist than any other cake I have ever made. Without the chocolate syrup on top it probably would not have had enough of a chocolate flavor for me, but with it this cake is one of the best cakes I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
LOVED IT!!! I modified this out of necessity, sorry, but so thankful for your submission!! I didn't have egg, milk, and butter, and NEEDED a b-day cake for my 9y/o. Also, I used whole wheat flour, 1 cup sugar and 2 box strawberry jello mix, and no cocoa. Our cupboards were bare.... And as I bit my nails hoping it would be edible, everyone LOVED IT. Needless to say this is our cake recipe from now on! Thinking of adding bananas next time with cream cheese frosting. THANK YOU for helping me out of a pickle..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States