Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great recipe! There are no dairy allergies in our house, but my boyfriend has having a "cake emergency" the other night and decided he couldn't live without dessert. We were out of butter, and everything I usually use in place of it (margarine, crisco, applesauce) so I needed something like this. I took some advise of other reviewers and added 1 teaspoon salt, and did half brown sugar, half white. We loved the results. Moist, chocolatey, and you would never know it's dairy free. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe. You can also replace the 2 cups of water with 2 cups of freshly squeezed orange juice. Instead of the chocolate powder add around 1 to 2 teaspoons of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have nieces and nephews w/severe dairy allergies and a handufl of vegan friends. The instructions were simple. It was plenty flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Ridiculously moist, very easy to put together in a pinch, and great for people with allergies. For people who are used to the depth of flavor present when eggs and milk and butter are used, you won't find them here, so expect an altogether different flavor of cake. I made 24 cupcakes and a teddy bear silicone cake (would fit a 9x9 pan) in very little time. Cupcakes took 15 minutes for me. Bear took 25. Toothpick it if you're not sure. Thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Awesome recipe! Took it to a picnic where there were kids with food allergies, and was a hit! I did add salt, roughly a teaspoon, and added chocolate chips. I also found that the pan will need more than a casual spray to keep it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicornnymph22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
made this as cupcakes for my food allergic son, he LOVED them! I keep them frozen so I always have a treat for him at birthday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
As a child I had this growing up because my Mom learned to make it and it was a cheap cake to make. My mom would let my sister and I help and it always was moist and yummy! I first had this cake at my 4th birthday party! The comments on the salt is very important to the recipe because as another reviewer stated it sets off the chocolate and adds flavor to the cake. It also helps the cake not rise too much with the activation of the baking soda and vinegar. My mom always just mixed the dry ingredients together then made 3 wells and put the oil, vinegar and vanilla in them then pour the water over all of it and mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I cut the sugar down because it's just too sweet but this is definitely a keeper in our family. Great chocolate taste and moist too. Easy to make and great for all those who have allergies to nuts and eggs... even great when money is tight and eggs are a luxury....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Awesome cakes and cupcakes came out of this one. Everyone loved it =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XxDaRK
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Fantastic recipe. Has never failed me! I often make these as cupcakes and my advice would be to leave them for a few hours or overnight as the flavour improves greatly. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States