Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by J Midd
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Simply delicious - modified the recipe a bit based on earlier recommendations by others eg. replaced water with a cup of milk and a cup of strong coffee, half of sugar with a cup of brown sugar, added some salt, balsamic vinegar (ran out of white!!!). Threw some choc chips in, but cake sunk slightly in middle when cooked. Took 40-45 minutes baking time. Used chocolates to decorate the shallow well :) looked great and taste wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe is AAAMMMMAAAAZZZINNNNGGGG!!!!! I had no idea cake could taste so delicious without eggs, milk and butter! OMG. I made my own adjustments though. Nothing major. I added a teaspoon of salt because this enhances the sweet flavour. I also substituted one cup of water with one cup of HOT STRONG coffee simply because I like the taste my chocolate cakes have when coffee is in them. Lastly, I baked it for around 40 mins. People, in one day it was gone! The people in my house LOVED it. Thanks Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this after reading positive reviews. I added half brown sugar and heaping T's of cocoa. After tasting the batter, I began to have doubts. It was terribly acrid! Yuck! But, having never tried a vegan cake before, I decided to bake it anyhow. Let me tell you, it was flavorless and downright AWFUL. I "fixed" it by poking holes in the top, pouring cream of coconut over, letting that soak, then icing with fudge sauce and topping with toasted coconut. It was very good after the adjustment, but I would never EVER use this recipe again. Perhaps it is good for people who can't eat butter, eggs, or milk, but seriously, I hope vegan cooking can be better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe. Tweeked it a little though. No chocolate,substituted diet cherry soda in place of water, splenda instead of sugar. Added dried cranberries and 2 tbsp of brown sugar as well as a 1/2 tsp salt. It turned out delicious. My kids and grandkids had no idea about the cake they just kept coming for more. This made a great breakfast bar. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Turned out quite nicely, though not as moist and crumbly-looking as in the photo - and went well with Duncan Hines vanilla frosting. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I needed a recipe to bring to Playcentre for the children, some have intolerance to eggs and milk, so this recipe was great. Very easy to make with children too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Okay, the texture and moisture of this cake was great, but, there was NO TASTE at all!! The only way that this cake was even palatable was when it was smothered in butter cream :( I definitely don't recommend this if you are not allergic to eggs or dairy. The only reason I made this was because I was out of eggs and butter. Overall, it was not a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is a great chocolate cake. I usually don't frost my cakes because of concerns for calories, but with this cake I can without feeling guilty. The cake its self is very moist. I cut this recipe in half to bake in a square 8x8 pan. I also used half brown sugar (other half white sugar), added some salt, put one table spoon more cocoa powder, and I sprinkled mini chocolate chips over the batter to give the cake a crust since it is so moist. For such a low fat cake it is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
a very simple recipe but a little tasteless. need to add more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
LOVE this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States