Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. You can do a lot with it. I hate chocolate cake. So, in place of the cocoa, I ended up using vanilla sugar and adding cinnamon, and making cupcakes. It ended up tasting like this pumpkin pie spice bread a store I know makes (I added NO pumpkin). It is a little too dense to call it a cake, but it is a wonderful quick bread! I did add salt as well because others said it is better that way. You really can do anything with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambershahin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This recipe was VERY easy to make. It tastes sooo good; on my second slice:)salt NOT needed. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAG SUNSHINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Surprisingly good and moist! Best the next day for that rich chocolatey flavor to come out that lacked flavor the first day. Followed suggestions to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very good recipe perfect for my son's food allergies. Moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
MY daughter is allergic to all dairy,eggs, nuts...just to name a few, and we've been using this recipe since her 1st birthday! She loves it! People who try it can't tell it's missing all the other stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was delicious but I did substitute the water with cooled black coffee added a 3/4 tsp salt and just before baking placed a Hershey kiss in each cupcake. I topped with chocolate frosting that had a hint of espresso powder and WOW what a hit. Will make these again for sure....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I love this recipe. The cake is a bit dense, but still moist and very chocolatey. I used a bundt pan and I had to bake it for about 50 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toncho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Amazingly good! I added a box of vanilla pudding mix, used heaping teaspoons of baking soda and baking powder. I also used heaping tablespoons of the unsweetened cocoa. I used 2 cups of rice milk instead of water and added 1 teaspoon of salt! Delicious, moist cake that I frosted with homemade buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Been using this recipe for years for my dairy/egg anaphylactic daughter and we all love it...sometimes I swirl 1/2 chocolate and 1/2 vanilla to mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I liked it to the point where the color and taste is fine. The consistency of the batter was really liquidy. This made the first time I tried it to sink. It also made it like a chocolate lava cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States