Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I have made this cake many times. Instead of mixing in a bowl, I placed dry ingredients directly in the baking pan, made "wells" with my spoon and put each wet ingredient in a well, then mixed with a fork. Be sure to get into the corners and incorporate all of the dry ingredients. Bake as directed. It is a delicious cake and I loved the ease of preparation too. That is the way I first learned to make this cake when the recipe was given to me by a family friend for a 4-H demonstration that I needed to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This cake was awesome and so moist, kids, adults all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I think it was good, it seemed like it wasn't cooked all the way because it was still jiggly after about 30 minutes. I was tired of waiting though, so I took it out anyways. It turned out to be cooked through fine. It is very moist. I did add about 1/4 tsp or so of salt. I think it's great to be able to pop out a pretty good tasting cake for only pennies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This cake was highly disappointing. I asked what everyone thought, and after a moment of silence the eight year old piped up saying, "It tastes like water." When I tried it for myself, I found her description sadly accurate. It was passionless, like a cake that had given up on life, its flavor reflecting a bleak view of life without hope, depth, or color. It was as depressing as trying on swimsuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. You can do a lot with it. I hate chocolate cake. So, in place of the cocoa, I ended up using vanilla sugar and adding cinnamon, and making cupcakes. It ended up tasting like this pumpkin pie spice bread a store I know makes (I added NO pumpkin). It is a little too dense to call it a cake, but it is a wonderful quick bread! I did add salt as well because others said it is better that way. You really can do anything with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambershahin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This recipe was VERY easy to make. It tastes sooo good; on my second slice:)salt NOT needed. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAG SUNSHINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Surprisingly good and moist! Best the next day for that rich chocolatey flavor to come out that lacked flavor the first day. Followed suggestions to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very good recipe perfect for my son's food allergies. Moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
MY daughter is allergic to all dairy,eggs, nuts...just to name a few, and we've been using this recipe since her 1st birthday! She loves it! People who try it can't tell it's missing all the other stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was delicious but I did substitute the water with cooled black coffee added a 3/4 tsp salt and just before baking placed a Hershey kiss in each cupcake. I topped with chocolate frosting that had a hint of espresso powder and WOW what a hit. Will make these again for sure....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States