Grandma's Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Awesome! I tempered the eggs, subbed cream for some of the milk, and it was amazing. Hubby asked for this pie, and I found a recipe worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Okay a little eggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I had a 7" pastry tin, but instead of adjusting amounts just made 6 mini ones as well. Had some trouble trying to get them out. Are you meant to butter up the cases first? Cooked all the way through, but bottom of pastry was a little soggy, I did egg wash pastry first as directed. Maybe the mixture leaked a little. Very easy to make otherwise, the custard set beautifully and was delicious. Looked good enough to eat too. I love nutmeg so sprinkled little note on b4 putting into oven. Will try again though I'm aiming for perfection:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is a terrific recipe. I omitted the vanilla. Turned it into a pear custard pie by adding 2 medium pears, peeled and quartered. My friends raved about this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Komet Being
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
LOL this recipe was a hit... thanks Grandma Marles! made 4 of the egg custard pies over Thanksgiving & Christmas... now have 2 more in the oven now & will post a pic... ok out of the oven looks a bit undone, but things harden up as they cool dang crust got too dark... gotta do this at a lower oven temp for more time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Komet Being

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Recipe worked great for me, but mention needs to be made that it's for deep dish, not regular crust. Substituted egg nog for milk and cut sugar by 2/3; and now all the pies gone by the time it hits the table around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Hart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Yum, yum. Taste just like my grandmother use to make. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this following recipe exactly. Came out like a watery, rubbery, sweet omelet. Very disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
It's so easy n the results were delicious loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann Schroeder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
burnt crust and water custard.also ingredients were enough to make two disasters :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States