Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Easy peasy doughnuts! The only problem with this is that the biscuits have that particular taste that a certain brand of buscuits have. Maybe it's me that tastes that bit of bitterness in the biscuits. My kid engulfed the doughnut holes, & my neigbor thought they were awesome. I used sugar & cinnamon since I'm not a fan of powdered sugar doughnuts. You have to watch them carefully because if they turn dark brown the taste wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I have made these before but I roll the biscuit out and place a marshmallow on top and fold the biscuit over. Pinch sides to seal. They are soooooo gooood!!!!! Just as the others have mentioned, make sure the oil is not too hot. They will brown on the outside and doughy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very good. Make one at a time in small pot. Check temp. and make sure it is 375 and not hotter or outside of donuts cook too fast before inside is cooked. Cover with chocolate frosting (heat in microwave 15 secs. to thin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
i HAVE MADETHESE DONUTS SINCE MY YOUNGEST WAS IN ELEMENTARY ONLY I MAKE A GLAZE WITH CONFECTIONERS SUGAR AND DRIZZLE OVER THE DONUTS...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Its good. Need a small cookie cutter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
OMG! These are not good at all for the waistline!!! I followed recipe for a batch or two and then followed another reviewer and left whole and used turkey baster to fill with jam! These aren't on weight watchers or Jenny Craig diet.... pfft! Awesome Tiffany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSHERIDAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These are good for what they are, but a fried can of biscuits will never be as delicious as a real donut...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymiller333
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Good and simple. Keep an eye on your oil temp, otherwise you end up with a beautifully browned donut with a doughy center!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Ironically, my son's girlfriend mentioned making these with her grandmother the day before this recipe arrived in my e-mail. Obviously, we were meant to make these. They are so easy and even yummier than I expected. Toss them in a bag with granulated sugar or sugar and cinnamon for an additional "yum" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States