Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Excellent. Easy to make and very fresh when you eat them right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It tasted great and all but i like using recipes that don't use instant stuff like the can of buttermilk biscuit dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I made these with cinnamon sugar instead of confectioners sugar. I have a 50/50 success rate. I've been trying to find the balance between not too done on the outside and not doughy on the inside. It seems like if I make these to my preferred brownness on the outside, they are doughy on the inside. If they are done on the inside, then they are too brown on the outside. I'm sure it has something to do with the temperature of my oil, but I just can't seem to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
These were amazing. I didn't have buttermilk biscuit dough, used the country biscuit dough... and I can't imagine them any better ! I brushed melted butter on them, then rolled them in a sugar/cinnamon mixture. I rolled the doughnut holes in powdered sugar. Very easy, and you can do so many things with them. I highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
you wouldnt think these would be all that good, but they are sooooo delish!!!! I used flakey biscuit dough because that was all that I had on hand, but it turned out terrific!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Delicious! I would lower the temperature to 325-350, because mine were overdone on the outside and underdone inside. If you don't cut a hole in the doughnuts, try cutting the biscuit dough in half to reduce the thickness (came out PERFECT every time that way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
love em it was quick and easy a quick snack for the kids in no time and add 50 more stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
We've been making these for years!! My favorite!! Easy way to make the perfect donut is using a pop bottle cap to cut out the hole.. Cinnamon sugar instead of confectioners' sugar is real good to :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stacy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These were good, my kids loved them. They are a little heavy but will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made these last night, and they were amazing! My boyfriend came home from work and asked, "where did you get those fluffy doughnuts?" When I told him I made them, he didn't believe me. I made some with powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar and some with a chocolate peanut butter frosting. He ended up eating five doughnuts by himself! These are an amazing quick fix when you're craving something sweet. Thanks for the easy amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tish_bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States