Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Can I give this 10 stars?!? My son LOVES donuts and I promised him donuts for breakfast this morning...however, we awoke to a terrible rainstorm and I didn't want to drive 11 miles to the closest donut shop. I found this recipe and was apprehensive because we are donut snobs and the thought of heavy 'biscuit' donuts just didn't appeal to me, however, I thought I would give it a try. I found that I only had "Reduced Fat Flaky Layers" type of biscuits so I was worried, but OH MY LORD...they were absolutely wonderful! They puffed up beautifully and were light and airy inside and crispy on the outside. They were amazing! My sons eyes lit up when he took the first bite and the magic words came from him mouth...'Mom, these are the best donuts I have ever tasted"...ahhhhh success!!! I made vanilla and chocolate glazes and they were great and also did a few with cinnamon sugar...YUMMMMM. I melted a chocolate truffle and added it to the chocolate glaze…that shot the taste into outerspace! My son can't wait me for me to make these again, but my husband has begged me not to ever make them again...because he ate 3 of them!! I hit it out of the park on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM29922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
My grandma used to make doughnuts like this too. I love them. She made a glaze of confectioner's sugar and milk and pour over them - YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Not to get all TMI on everyone, but when it's "that time of the month" I crave apple pie like nobody's business! So I make these donuts, using a baster to add apple pie filling to the center instead of cutting a hole in the middle. While they're draining, I sprinkle generously with cinnamon and sugar. The result is Apple Pie Donut Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
OMG! I can't believe how easy it was to make these doughnuts!! I also made a chocolate glaze. My son loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I always make my doughnuts like this. In fact i use a turkey baster and jelly sometimes and i make jelly doughnuts as well. They come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I learned this way of cooking donughts in middle school in 1963. You do not need that much oil. Just enough to put about 1/2 to 1 inche in a frying pan. Turn them half-way through. We used cinnamon and sugar combined in a paper bag and tossed them to coat. The biscuits will float when they are cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
The whole family (and our neighbors!) loved these. We put the powdered sugar in a sifter and let the kids "snow" the doughnuts. We also had a bowl of holiday-colored regular sugar and cinnamon to dip them in too. Great with milk! I know this wil be a special request from my daughter for years to come! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I have been making these doughnuts for years, and it really doesn't get any better for a fast, good breakfast treat (or anytime treat) that everyone likes. Try adding cinnamon to the powdered sugar, or even a little nutmeg too for an old fashioned taste. Just remember to make plenty..they are addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
These were quick, easy, and yummy! I can whip up 6 doughnuts (and doughnut holes!) in no time! :-) I love them with chocolate glaze; my kids liked them better with powder sugar. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
My GrandChildren Loved Them...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States