Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Yummy!! We loved these! I used flaky, junior sized biscuits and they were the perfect size. We used cinnamon sugar, powdered sugar and a vanilla glaze and they were all good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Our whole family thought that these were just terrible, with the exception of my daughter in law who will eat anything that is least bit sweet. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I love these! They are the perfect recipe for a busy mom on the go. If someone didn't post these then us 20 and 30-year-olds would not know about them. So thank you for posting! These are quick, easy and I can make all different coatings. Plus I can't eat dairy so being able to make yummy donuts with biscuits that don't have dairy or butter is a fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubslynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We loved these! Quick and fun! They floated as soon as they were put in the oil so I just waited until they were a dark golden brown on one side then flipped and waited until dark golden brown then removed them. You could use half the amount of oil if desired. I cooked these in a 3qt pot 3 at a time. They came out perfect. Going to make these for a P.J party this Fri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These were a great way to try out the new deep fryer Santa brought me! I used the not-so-grand size of canned biscuits, then went a little crazy. I used a turkey baster to inject them with whipped peanut butter frosting, dipped them in chocolate glaze, then added chopped PB cups to the top. My husband didn't believe they were homemade until he tasted how fresh they were. I have seen that trendy restaurants have been adding fresh doughnuts with a variety of dipping sauces to their dessert menus, and I think I will be doing the same thing. Everyone loves a doughnut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
If i could give this recipe more stars i would! Lets start with the easiness factor. I decided to make donut holes so i just cut the biscuits in half and rolled the halves in to balls. Tossed them in to the frier and thats it. Now for the taste factor I warmed up some strawberry jam for dipping and my guests couldn't get enough. This is a quick, delicious and versatile recipe! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I looked at this recipe and thought, "Biscuit dough? There's no way that tastes like doughnuts." It tastes like doughnuts. I am converted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Am amazed at this recipe. 5 stars on all accounts; taste, ease, cost, time. Doesn't get much better than that! Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
There were really good! It was my first time making doughnuts at home and they taste fantastic! We did the doughnut holes for our daughter. I was a little nervous because I haven't fried much and I've never done doughnuts. That's part of the reason I went with this recipe. I didn't want to do a ton of work just to have the recipe flop. Plus, I'm a mom...having staple recipes of quick and easy favorites is a must! We heated the oil over high in our wok. I cut the holes out and put the doughnuts in the oil 2-3 at a time. My husband monitored/flipped them. When they came out, I rolled/sprinked them with powdered sugar while he worked on the next batch. We did doughnut holes last. VERY tasty. Might try them with a glaze next time, but we will definitely be making these again. I will say, though, that it was helpful having someone else who could monitor another batch while I rolled the still hot doughnuts in sugar. Do-able for one person, but easier with two, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States