Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I didn't cut a hole..I just poked a hole and formed a pretty little donut. The cooked all the way through and came out fantastic! And of course were delicious.. I made it with the Chocolate Glaze from this site..and had delicious homemade donuts in about 20 minutes. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabziehomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I have used this method for years and it works well and they are good. BUT...2 quarts of oil for a package of canned biscuits is a bit much. You can just put a couple of cups in a frying pan and do the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I used to make these when my children were little (some 30 odd years ago!). All 3 boys loved them as they were a special treat and they got to help make various toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My mom made these for us and I in turn made them for my kids. We LOVE them! I have no doubt that my grandchildren will love them some day as well! Easy and so delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
AWESOME! We used to make these in Girls Club. They are just as good if not better (because they are fresh & warm when you eat them) than getting them at the "doughnut shop". These were always fun to make and dip them in powder sugar or cinnamon sugar. LOVE THEM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have made these by just punching a finger through the middle to make the hole and frying them in1 1/2 - 2 inches of oil.Covered with cinnamon and sugar they taste great as long as you eat them hot, but after they cool they taste more like fried biscuits instead of like doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have made these for over 30 yrs. It's so easy and I love the little donut holes too. I use the powdered sugar but might try to make some glaze for them. I have to be very careful when alone tho as I crave them and make them and eat them all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I was still in high school when I first learned you could make donuts this way. That would make me about the same age as most of your grandmothers. We never cut a hole for the donut, just made a hole with our fingers, worked great and no little pieces to get burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have been making these donuts for at least 25 years. With 7 kids I learned to make all kinds of things with biscuits. My kids loved these. Me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Amazing, and simple. Will knock your kids socks off to make their own delicious doughnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States