Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Am amazed at this recipe. 5 stars on all accounts; taste, ease, cost, time. Doesn't get much better than that! Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
There were really good! It was my first time making doughnuts at home and they taste fantastic! We did the doughnut holes for our daughter. I was a little nervous because I haven't fried much and I've never done doughnuts. That's part of the reason I went with this recipe. I didn't want to do a ton of work just to have the recipe flop. Plus, I'm a mom...having staple recipes of quick and easy favorites is a must! We heated the oil over high in our wok. I cut the holes out and put the doughnuts in the oil 2-3 at a time. My husband monitored/flipped them. When they came out, I rolled/sprinked them with powdered sugar while he worked on the next batch. We did doughnut holes last. VERY tasty. Might try them with a glaze next time, but we will definitely be making these again. I will say, though, that it was helpful having someone else who could monitor another batch while I rolled the still hot doughnuts in sugar. Do-able for one person, but easier with two, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
SOOOOO GOOD AND EASY!!thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I've used refrigerator biscuits to make doughnuts for many years, but I don't use a deep fryer. I use a cast iron skillet with 1/2 inch oil. It works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Love this recipe! We used a really cheap brand of some butter flavor Texas biscuits. The doughnuts turned out really amazing. We whipped up a glaze and dipped the doughnuts in it after they cooled for about a minute or two. Talk about melt-in-your-mouth..... Oh my goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Well, pillsbury, you've done it again! These are fantastic. Easy as Anything to make... Crispy outside and soft, fluffy inside. Perfect donuts. I also topped with a cinnamon and brown sugar coating. Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Fantastic recipe, thanks for sharing. I never keep packaged biscuit dough because I like to make them from scratch using the "Kentucky Biscuit" recipe also found on Allrecipes. Oh my, what a fantastic combination of two recipes, these donuts just melted in my mouth! I'll have to exercise more thanks to you two! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
We used to make these in girl scouts, but used the left over bacon grease. Finished off with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
These are outstanding!!!! I didn't know how a doughnut hole would turn out, so I only did one. The doughnut that I punched the hole from looks like it was bought from the store!!! I will definately make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These were great! I will make these again...also super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States