Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
In N Carolina they call these "puffs" and serve them with a drizzle of honey instead of sugar. Restaurants bill them as Puffs and Honey. They certainly are not doughnuts but they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I used to make this for my girl's when they were young. they are 33,& 31 now. I loved them,but i have to be on a glutin free diet. But i will give this 5 star's because they are so yummy. Wish i could eat them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Knop Babski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I've been making these for years with my students and at home. They are also very good sprinkled with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Really easy for a quick fix when your family wants something sweet!.. I found that the outside cooked fast and inside was raw so I had to turn my temp. down to med/low heat. I just placed them on some paper towels a few minutes to drain;I made a maple glaze and dipped while warm. They were as good as a donut shop (hubby says).. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Made these this morning! Easy and delicious!!! I rolled half in powdered sugar, half in cinnamon sugar. My only other comment, not really a negative, but the buttermilk biscuit dough is definitely not as sweet as a donut from an actual donut shop (cake donuts). But, in a way them not being quite as sweet was a nice change, and my husband actually said he prefers these to those from a donut shop. Thanks for sharing this recipe, we really enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I've been making this years too. Just want to mention that our families favorite way to make them is to fry, let them drain on a paper towel lined plate & then shake them in a small paper bag with plain white sugar. You can use a brown paper bag like you can buy for making lunches or what I LOVE to use is the left over sugar bag. It is a bit thicker. And why not repurpose the sugar bag if you can?! Hey, I like being green when I can. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Totally easy and awesome! I just fried them in a quarter inch of oil! What any easy, fun dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GCROWLEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
So easy and so much fun for my son to decorate with the sprinkles! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hawkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My dad used to make these for us growing up. Press the mouth of a water bottle into the middle of the biscut to make the holes, and throw them into the oil for some donut holes as well! My dad would make these "Shake Your Donuts" as a treat whenever we had slumber parties. He'd fry the donuts, put them into a tupperware container with cinnamon and sugar, and we would get to shake it to make our donut. Tons of fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good! Easy, and delicious. Make sure to even them out, flatten them a bit, otherwise they will be raw in the middle! Trust me :) lol. Oh and if you put powdered sugar on them, wait until they cool first, otherwise the sugar gets moist and doesn't stay powdery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States