Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have been making these donuts for at least 25 years. With 7 kids I learned to make all kinds of things with biscuits. My kids loved these. Me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Amazing, and simple. Will knock your kids socks off to make their own delicious doughnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We called then Scout Donuts, used store brand biscuits, powdered sugar, could not keep up with demand (my troop of about 20 could put away a few dozen and ask for more. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My Nana would melt a T of butter and mix with a half cup of confectioner's sugar, stirring in a tsp of water at a time until a perfect glaze formed for the doughnuts. Thank you for posting this! Brings back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These are my husband's favorites!! His Grandmother used to make these in LA. He MUST have them with cane syrup (impossible to find in the southwest) and chicory coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
L REMEMBER I HAD A GIRLFRIEND IN HIGH SCHOOL WHOSE MOTHER DID THIS FOR US ONCE WHEN I SPENT THE NIGHT. SHE USED CINNAMON/SUGAR AND THEY WERE DELICIOUS, ESPECIALLY WITH HOT COCOA!!! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I'm one of those grandmas now, but when my children were growing up my mother taught me how to make these and even now have been told by my grown nephews and nieces one of their fondest memories when they stayed overnight at my house we sometimes had these for breakfast. Thanks for the memory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverdale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I had almost forgotten this recipe. My mom used to make these for our family when I was very young. (Yes they had canned biscuits way back in the stone age.) (Before that she made them with Bisquick mix.) They are quick and easy and TASTY!!! Thanks to Tiffany for reminding me of this great memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I volunteer teaching an after schol cooking class at a local public charter school. This looks like a very easy and inexpensive recipe. I'm sure they will enjoy it as snack. Not for breakfast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I learned this way of cooking donughts in middle school in 1963. You do not need that much oil. Just enough to put about 1/2 to 1 inche in a frying pan. Turn them half-way through. We used cinnamon and sugar combined in a paper bag and tossed them to coat. The biscuits will float when they are cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States