Grandma's Crispy Pork Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
THIS MADE A LOT! But, anyway I thought this tasted pretty good or what I expected. They are a lot like the ones at the Chinese restaurants. Mine were just more crispy or crunchy, probably from the canola versus shortening they tend to use in the restaurants. The filling was delicious on these. The only changes I made was I used low-sodium soy sauces and left out the black pepper. I had thought to cook the filling before frying, but I am glad I didn't because it was fully cooked after the 4 minutes. I didn't realized how many wonton wrappers are actually in a pack! The package is now 12oz instead of 14oz like the recipe suggests. I got 50 appetizers and still have 1 1/2 cups left of filling left when I ran out! I guess I will use it for something else. Because the wrappers hold so much grease, I baked some of them at 375 for about 18 minutes. I lined a baking sheet with foil and sprayed it lightly with some olive oil, and then sprayed the wontons before baking. They tasted very good that way to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I have made these three times now and everyone keeps asking for more. For dipping, I poured terayaki sauce in small individual bowls. TIP: I froze two dozen UNCOOKED (place them in layers in a small box to avoid breaking off corners of triangles). Thanks Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poquoson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These were amazing! I did make a slight change though, instead of soy sauce I used Sesame Ginger dressing. I served these with "Sweet and Sour Sauce 1" and they were a perfect pair. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
These are great. My minor changes were to leave out the celery, and I used green onion. I also added 2 tsp of minced ginger and 4tbsp minced garlic. I also made a sauce using a 4 to 1 ration of kikkoman soy sauce to kikkoman teriyaki sauce, 1 tsp minced ginger & 2-3tsp minced garlic, which I heated almost to boiling on the stove (about 4 minutes on med-high heat). PERFECT dipping sauce! (you could add a pinch or two of sugar if you prefer the dipping sauce to be a little thicker--or you could use kikkoman teriyaki baste & glaze). All in all, fabulous, and will DEFINITELY make again! Tastes VERY much like Mama Fu's! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Pretty good, it seems like it's missing something though, kind of bland. This recipe worked well both fried and in soup. I only used about 1/2 of the filling for one package of wonton wrappers so I'd cut the recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
These were pretty good but I have a couple of suggestions. First of all, I used pork sausage (in a roll). Secondly, I added some Chinese cabbage to the veggie mixture and sauteed them just a few minutes. Lastly, I would recommend NOT using a deep fryer. They seemed to IMMEDIATELY rise to the top. Some were willing to "turn over" but some were not so I had to leave the cover open and hold them down. Served with Teryaki veggies and dipped them in sweet and sour sauce (boyfriend used sweet chili sauce). Overall, not bad but needs a bit more flavor - garlic perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were simple and yet very good. One batch makes alot so I cooked them all and froze them into dozens for later snacking. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
These were fabulous! DH and I made these together tonight. I had to run and buy a second package of wrappers so none of the meat mixture would go to waste. Next time we'll use one and a half times the recipe with two packages of wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
added fresh ginger= dee-lish-ious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This recipe was DELICIOUS!! I just made some and the spices were the right amount to make you want to keep coming back for more! I love the addition of garlic...it was divine!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!! It's a keeper. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Cutlets

See what happens when German schnitzel technology meets Southern country cooking.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States