Grandma's Crispy Pork Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I had won ton wrappers left over from making soup, so I tried this recipe ... we loved them ... I will for sure be making them again, they would make a great appetizer .. I served them with sweet chile sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihi
Home Town: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
loved these! better than the restaraunts! much much better. great dipped in soy sauce with wasabi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srae831

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I can't say YUM enough.... this was excellent although I found it tough to find the wanton wrappers but eventually found them at a chinese food specialty store. This recipe made a ton of wantons and I ended up freezing a bunch to make another day. Thanks for the recipe! I'm sure I will be making again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
These are great. My minor changes were to leave out the celery, and I used green onion. I also added 2 tsp of minced ginger and 4tbsp minced garlic. I also made a sauce using a 4 to 1 ration of kikkoman soy sauce to kikkoman teriyaki sauce, 1 tsp minced ginger & 2-3tsp minced garlic, which I heated almost to boiling on the stove (about 4 minutes on med-high heat). PERFECT dipping sauce! (you could add a pinch or two of sugar if you prefer the dipping sauce to be a little thicker--or you could use kikkoman teriyaki baste & glaze). All in all, fabulous, and will DEFINITELY make again! Tastes VERY much like Mama Fu's! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
These are so good! Thank you to you and your grandma for sharing this recipe. The filling reminded me of lumpia filling. Highly recommend and will make these again. Definitely need 2 packages of wonton wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This recipe was DELICIOUS!! I just made some and the spices were the right amount to make you want to keep coming back for more! I love the addition of garlic...it was divine!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!! It's a keeper. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Yummy! I added a tablespoon of oyster sauce to give it a little more flavorful kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPons55

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
THIS MADE A LOT! But, anyway I thought this tasted pretty good or what I expected. They are a lot like the ones at the Chinese restaurants. Mine were just more crispy or crunchy, probably from the canola versus shortening they tend to use in the restaurants. The filling was delicious on these. The only changes I made was I used low-sodium soy sauces and left out the black pepper. I had thought to cook the filling before frying, but I am glad I didn't because it was fully cooked after the 4 minutes. I didn't realized how many wonton wrappers are actually in a pack! The package is now 12oz instead of 14oz like the recipe suggests. I got 50 appetizers and still have 1 1/2 cups left of filling left when I ran out! I guess I will use it for something else. Because the wrappers hold so much grease, I baked some of them at 375 for about 18 minutes. I lined a baking sheet with foil and sprayed it lightly with some olive oil, and then sprayed the wontons before baking. They tasted very good that way to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were simple and yet very good. One batch makes alot so I cooked them all and froze them into dozens for later snacking. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Time consuming but very tasty, great for parties. I didnt find them bland, although I did add a couple extra cloves of garlic and a little more black pepper. I also added a tablespoon of rice vinegar. Makes about 45 to 50 wantons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sereen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Belly

See how to make easy, crispy pork belly at home.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Crispy Pork Cutlets

See what happens when German schnitzel technology meets Southern country cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States