Grandma's Cranberry-Orange Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very good. I made this without the celery. Everyone really enjoyed this one; a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very good - goes well with Thanksgiving turkey dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I've never gotten so many compliments on a cranberry salad before! I followed the recipe as written, but added a bit more celery (for texture) plus a handful of dried cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this for an Elks organization fund raiser. Made 4X the original recipe. It kept well, and was a HUGE hit! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by host'ntoast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
A friend of mine brought this to a Thanksgiving Dinner and it was FANTASTIC!!! My husband, who never combines anything remotely sweet to his dinner, loved this that spoke volumes to how delicious this is. I have been looking for this recipe for years (my friend lost it) and will be making it this Thanksgiving. I will be using walnuts instead of pecans, walnuts were used when I had it, nor a topping and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Exceptional alternative to cranberry sauce. It's now a fixture on turkey day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was fantastic-- everyone who loved cranberry sauce and cranberries loved this recipe-- everyone else just wouldn't try it. It looks add but it is excellent with turkey. Next time I make this, I may use cranberry jello if I can find it or else other flavors may good. I wasn't sure if raspberry was the best match but I am sure almost any flavor would come out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I made this for a funeral luncheon at our church. This was my first attempt at a Jello mold (which I actually made in a bundt pan), so it didn't look so great, but I think with practice, it would look delightful. I omitted the celery. I don't know if I didn't soften the cream cheese long enough, but my whipped topping did not "spread" easilly on top of the mold, so it looked pretty gross. I think next time I would serve the topping on the side. It does smell and taste delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I too was skeptical - made it for mother's day - put the whipped/cream topping on the side - there wasn't a bite left! I think I chopped the pecans a little too finely. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have made this salad every Thanksgiving for years, but have never used the topping on it. I think I'll try it this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States