Grandma's Cranberry-Orange Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I've never gotten so many compliments on a cranberry salad before! I followed the recipe as written, but added a bit more celery (for texture) plus a handful of dried cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very good - goes well with Thanksgiving turkey dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very good. I made this without the celery. Everyone really enjoyed this one; a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I made this for a funeral luncheon at our church. This was my first attempt at a Jello mold (which I actually made in a bundt pan), so it didn't look so great, but I think with practice, it would look delightful. I omitted the celery. I don't know if I didn't soften the cream cheese long enough, but my whipped topping did not "spread" easilly on top of the mold, so it looked pretty gross. I think next time I would serve the topping on the side. It does smell and taste delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have made this salad every Thanksgiving for years, but have never used the topping on it. I think I'll try it this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Exceptional alternative to cranberry sauce. It's now a fixture on turkey day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was fantastic-- everyone who loved cranberry sauce and cranberries loved this recipe-- everyone else just wouldn't try it. It looks add but it is excellent with turkey. Next time I make this, I may use cranberry jello if I can find it or else other flavors may good. I wasn't sure if raspberry was the best match but I am sure almost any flavor would come out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I too was skeptical - made it for mother's day - put the whipped/cream topping on the side - there wasn't a bite left! I think I chopped the pecans a little too finely. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this for an Elks organization fund raiser. Made 4X the original recipe. It kept well, and was a HUGE hit! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by host'ntoast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
A friend of mine brought this to a Thanksgiving Dinner and it was FANTASTIC!!! My husband, who never combines anything remotely sweet to his dinner, loved this that spoke volumes to how delicious this is. I have been looking for this recipe for years (my friend lost it) and will be making it this Thanksgiving. I will be using walnuts instead of pecans, walnuts were used when I had it, nor a topping and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States