Grandma's Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe out 2 years ago around the holidays and it instantly became a family favorite...My husbands grandmother even requested that I bring it to her Christmas gathering. I prepared the recipe exactly as it is listed and its perfect, wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe and easy. I used a little less corn, however I added vanilla and cinnamon. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
made this for christmas dinner and it was a hit. followed the recipe. made a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe is so good! I made it the first time at Thanksgiving and then was asked to make it again at Christmas. This now takes the place of the usual scalloped corn we made for years and years. I do want to experiment with making it a bit healthier but haven't made any variations to it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made this as a side for family Christmas dinner this year, and it was very good. I followed some of the reviews and added vanilla and nutmeg to the mix and added the corn starch to the milk before adding to the egg mix. Used the flat glass baking dish as suggested and it worked perfectly. Found out it is even better served with Maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have been looking for a corn pudding that wasn't very bready and actually 'pudding-y' like my great aunt used to make. Unfortunately, this still didn't fit the bill. I only used 4 eggs as others suggested, but I still think that was too many, so I'd suggest using 3. I am also surprised that others thought there was too much corn, because I'd probably add another can next time. It was better than many others, but still not what I'd hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner, with the following modifications: I halved the recipe, used whipping cream instead of milk, and used all creamed corn because I had no whole-kernel corn. I baked it for 45 minutes, and it was delicious. Good, traditional, Southern-style corn pudding. My older daughter ate 3 servings. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Absolutely loved this. I was looking for a recipe similar to the one my mom used to make and found this one. I thought mom's was excellent and this is so much better. I halved everything because I was only serving 4 people who I thought would eat it and wished I had made a full recipe. I did only use 2 eggs though since it is hard to half an egg. I really whipped it up with the whisk before adding the corn and it was extremely fluffy. Great recipe and although it is technically comfort food it is more like comfort food you find at a fine dining establishment not in mom's kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
OMG!!! That's all I can say. Made this tonight for my first time making Christmas dinner for the family. Everyone LOVED it. Good thing I actually doubled it in 2 pans, because even with 9 cornish hens, potatoes, and green beans, it was ALL gone with 6 adults. I have now been ordered to bring it to every family dinner from here on out, including our new years dinner on the 30th. I've never had corn pudding before so cant compare it, but it was delicious. I had jumbo eggs, and since I did read a few recipes complaining about it being too "eggy" I only used 4 eggs. However that was probably the equivalent of 5 regular sized eggs so I do not think it would make a huge difference. I'm personally not a huge egg fan so I was a little worried but all it did was give it a good custard-like texture IMHO. I also used sweet corn for the whole kernel canned, and I drained the can first. A while into it cooking, I happened to look up and noticed my timer was frozen at 59 minutes (THANKS TIMER!) however when I checked on it an hour had likely gone by and the top was nice and golden brown. It also sat on the stove for a good 2-3 hours covered in aluminum foul while the potatoes and hens cooked but it stayed nice and warm and potentially set and became the perfect texture and consistency. I'm normally a salt-with-my-eggs-and-corn type person, but to me this was just nice and sweet enough that it needed no additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I like the custard texture, but it is a little bland. I put nutmegin, and it woke the flavor up. Curry powder wasn't bad either. I am also bsbasking it without a lid. It turned out a little soupy. Overall though, I like the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States