Grandma's Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Was the hit of Thanksgiving. Like other posters mention, it is more of a custard than what you would get from the recipes that have corn meal in it. I personally prefer the more cakey style but everyone raved over this recipe and wanted it. I made exactly as recipe stated with the addition of a bit of vanilla extract, bc it suited my taste. I think it will be a holiday request from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
taking some tweaking, started with basic recipe, added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, used frozen corn with jalapeno pepper, 4 eggs, not 5, substituted sour cream for milk, added 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar. was a hit today but I will continue to tweak, actually want to switch to 9x9" glass casserole vs. 9x13, looking for more moisture - a blend of 'pudding' and 'souffle'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
my mother in law use to make these for every occasion.. So I tweaked it to taste more like hers. I used 3 eggs instead of 5.. 3/4 cup of sugar and instead of cornstarch we use jiffy corn muffin mix. This is an amazing side and definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving last year and it was just a bit on the "too sweet" side. So this year I only used 1/4 cup milk and substituted the other 1/2 cup with sour cream (12 servings). It made all the difference in the world and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kctest
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
So easy to make. My 8 yr old and I made it for thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jude
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this today for my ladies group potluck Thanksgiving I didn't have enough everyone asked for the recipe I didn't change a thing .Now I just made another for our family Thanksgiving tomorrow I hope it travels and warms up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I substituted - using two 16 oz bags of frozen organic corn and 1/2c organic heaving whipping cream - YUM !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Tested -a bit eggie -but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Bent Crocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My whole family LOVED this. Even my son who isn't a big corn fan. My Father in law even asked for the recipe which is a BIG complement !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Easy to make. Needed a bit extra cornstarch and sugar, and I added a tiny bit of cinnamon and nutmeg for flavor. I also added salt and pepper. It came out runny and a little bland at first, so I mixed it all up again and added the extra ingredients above and re-baked it for another 20 min or so. It came out much better flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States