Grandma's Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
OMG!!! That's all I can say. Made this tonight for my first time making Christmas dinner for the family. Everyone LOVED it. Good thing I actually doubled it in 2 pans, because even with 9 cornish hens, potatoes, and green beans, it was ALL gone with 6 adults. I have now been ordered to bring it to every family dinner from here on out, including our new years dinner on the 30th. I've never had corn pudding before so cant compare it, but it was delicious. I had jumbo eggs, and since I did read a few recipes complaining about it being too "eggy" I only used 4 eggs. However that was probably the equivalent of 5 regular sized eggs so I do not think it would make a huge difference. I'm personally not a huge egg fan so I was a little worried but all it did was give it a good custard-like texture IMHO. I also used sweet corn for the whole kernel canned, and I drained the can first. A while into it cooking, I happened to look up and noticed my timer was frozen at 59 minutes (THANKS TIMER!) however when I checked on it an hour had likely gone by and the top was nice and golden brown. It also sat on the stove for a good 2-3 hours covered in aluminum foul while the potatoes and hens cooked but it stayed nice and warm and potentially set and became the perfect texture and consistency. I'm normally a salt-with-my-eggs-and-corn type person, but to me this was just nice and sweet enough that it needed no additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I like the custard texture, but it is a little bland. I put nutmegin, and it woke the flavor up. Curry powder wasn't bad either. I am also bsbasking it without a lid. It turned out a little soupy. Overall though, I like the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made it exactly as described on Thanksgiving and it was good but indeed a bit too "eggy". Made a 2nd one with 4 eggs, added a lil vanilla extract and a tad more sugar ( more than 1/4 but less than 1/2 and it was DELICIOUS!! I've made a pan each week and it's perfect! Had a friend who used to make this for me and now I'm so excited I can make my own whenever I want. Super easy and I'm no fan of the kitchen so that says A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
My kids liked this, but it was a little gooey for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very close to a perfect corn custard/pudding. Too close to a custard for the recipe base I'm looking to build from. Definitely needs a little salt, and my personal preference is always some little black flecks of pepper in a corn dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a success. Everyone enjoyed it very much. It is easy to assemble and into the oven to bake. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
So good! I had never had something like this before so I honestly wasn't sure what to expect. I love corn though and decided to give it a go based on all the rave reviews. I'm so happy I did! It is quite sweet, and I believe it's meant to be. I may try it with a bit less sugar next time, though, just for personal preference. It is basically a corn custard, and it is divine. Also, exceptionally easy to prepare and just as easy to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe turned out just the way it should. I introduced my nieces and nephews to corn pudding - they loved it! My grandmother always added oysters maybe I'll try that next year. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Was good and easy. Would like a sweeter recipe. Needed longer in oven than recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryannd

Displaying results 21-30 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States