Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I've used this recipe for several years now. I initially took the advice of other posters and used chicken stock instead of water and I used a can of regular corn and two of cream corn. Those were the only changes I made for a long time. For ease, I always buy a packet of real bacon pieces in the salad and then cook that up with some olive oil. Recently, I tried jazzing it up and it was to die for. Instead of olive oil, I used 3T of butter to cook the bacon and used two packets of bacon pieces. I added three cloves of garlic with the onion and used two really humongous potatoes and cooked until they were really soft. From there, I did the chicken stock and one can of corn (undrained), two cans of cream corn. I also added about 1/2t of sage, a bay leaf, a shade of crushed red pepper and a generous amount of pepper. I also don't bother warming the half and half, but just dump in at the end. While doing the 20 min simmer I left the top off to cook off some of the water from the broth and corn. What came out was a savory soup with an amazing flavor to it. Also - this soup gets better after a day in the fridge so it makes a great lunch the day after. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is the chowder that my mom used to make for us growing up... I followed the recipe almost to a tee - just used 2 cans of cream of corn, 1 can of low fat evaporated milk (I don't have any half and half around) 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth and used some slap yo mama cajun spice. It was delish with my knockoff red lobster cheddar biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkikoGurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved the recipe - used chicken broth instead of water. Added 2 T. sugar to add a little boost to the sweet corn. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fjord Horse Lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My family and I love this meal. I used chicken broth instead of water as suggested by others. Also, I used 5 cans of creamed corn and alot more potatoes as we like it a bit more dense then the original receipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Really good. I substituted the chicken broth and used sour dough bowls. We had a aside of veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This soup was easy to make and perfect for a cold day. It took a little longer to get the potatoes soft than the recipe says. I would also add a little more bacon than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This didn't work well for me even using chicken stock instead of water, but it was also my first try with corn chowder. I found it pretty bland and thin. I incorporated a simple roux of flour and butter which provided a decent thickening effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Just made this. And I "didnt" make modifications. My soup is great! By far not thin. In fact its thick and creamy. YUM!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this as part of an effort to use up pantry staples and was rewarded. I never make soup without doubling the recipe, as I like to have leftovers for lunch or to freeze. Changes (many of them inspired by other reviewers) included: included diced celery and carrot at the sautee stage, used chicken stock instead of water (mine happened to be unsalted), used a combination of creamed corn and kernal corn, used evaporated milk instead of cream and a bit less than the amount of cream called for due to the can size (didn't heat separately - just slowly heated in the soup), added about 1 tsp dried thyme leaves, used less salt than called for (suggest you start with half the amount and taste and add from there as needed), added a generous handful of chopped parsley and freshly ground pepper to finish. Thought thickness was just perfect (both potatoes and corn contributed to the consistency) and didn't feel the need for flour. A great base recipe that I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is some of the best corn chowder I've ever tasted. Followed the directions to a tee and it turned out great. Just want to add a comment to those that have changed things in this recipe and then giving it 3 or 4 stars. I just don't understand the reasoning. Anyway, it's a great recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States