Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Simple, delicious, and hearty! I have also substituted turkey bacon and fat free evaporated milk for a lower fat version and loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Love it. Used chicken stock instead of water and added cayenne pepper for zip. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shuluva
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I don't always make it with bacon, but it comes out fabulous either way!! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I substituted 2 cups water and 2 cups half and half for 4 cups milk, because it's what I had on hand, and it worked well! I don't love cream corn so used non-cream. My suggestions: add bacon at the END so it's still crispy, add garlic, ADD THYME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Tried to stay as close to recipe but had to adjust for gluten-free and onion allergy. Used total of 3 cans sweet corn, mashing 1 cup in food processor. Used 12oz. & 5oz. cans of evaporated milk, no half & half on hand. After potatoes were tender brought to boiling and added 2 Tbsp. corn starch dissolved in 1/4 cup water (because creamed corn could not be used.) When thickened, removed from heat and stirred in warmed milk. Received rave reviews from everyone who tried it. SIL had introduced me to corn chowder & was surprised at how much better this recipe was than her's. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Best chowder yet! I did add one red pepper. Also, I used 1 cup whole milk and 1 cup cream, I didn't have half and half! Ill make this all winter long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I use chicken broth in place of water. Other then that I make it just as the recipe calls for and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Very simple but delicious... My kids and husband ate so much my husband was afraid he wasn't going to have enough for lunch the next day... I did switch it up a little and used what I had. I used ham instead of bacon and cannot wait to try it with bacon... I think both would taste amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Foster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I am 19 and just starting to explore cooking. I love corn chowder and had been craving it all week. I looked up some recipes and this one seemed the simplest. Simple it was, but DELICIOUS! Like I said I am just starting to try cooking and I was suprised I made it! Very yummy, made exactly as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alb2686
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was awesome I pretty much followed the recipe . The only thing I did different was I used all the bacon grease I didn't drain any of it. I used water no chicken broth. I used two cans of cream style corn and I used an ear of corn in the cob. Came out great just like my grandpa used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States