Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes, by using ham I had cooked the day before. I used about a 1/2 cup of chopped, raw bacon and let it crisp in the pan. I left the bacon and all the grease in, then added the diced potatoes (used 3 instead of 4), chopped onion and diced up ham. Once the potatoes began to brown, I transferred all of that to the crock pot and let cook for 7 hours. I used chicken stock instead of water and also added a TSP of garlic powder and thyme. Added the half and half at the end like you suggested. Great recipe! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Replaced the bacon drippings with oil to make this vegetarian friendly. Also, to make up for the lost flavor of the bacon, I added a few sprigs or thyme one time, and a sprig of rosemary another time. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Exactly what I have been looking for. Made the recipe as written, yummy! Great start to add your own magic too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe was awesome. The only change I made was to use two cups of frozen corn as well as the two cans of creamed corn. I should have used more bacon though because I ended up with more than the eight servings that this makes. Next time I'll know better. We really loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jackifry
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
first snow fell today and I needed some warmth. found this recipe. about the only thing I changed was added 2 1/2 cups chicken low sodium broth. otherwise did exactly as the recipe called for and oh lala was it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackifry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Best corn chowder I've ever made! I used one can of chicken broth and added some more potatoes and a dollop of butter, OMG so good. Served with warm bisquits. The bacon flavor was amazing. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpirrung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe for Corn Chowder is amazing! I made a few changes based on other's reviews. I replaced the water with chicken broth, added 2 cans of creamed corn, and 1 can of regular corn. I also added a pinch of Thyme... I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Really delicious and so easy to make, the only changes I made were to use chicken stock instead of water and I used the immersion blender to smooth it out a little. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Loved it!!! I used a bit more bacon & added a can of niblet corn along with the cream corn. I sautéed celery & onion in the bacon fat. It was super hardy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States