Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I won't be eating it until tomorrow, but from preliminary taste tests, it is great! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Outstanding! First time to make this, so I didn't change a thing. It was quick and delicious--definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This came out really great! I had to cut the recipe in half because I only had two potatoes and I didn't want anything to be unproportional. Great flavor, and I would suggest adding a little crispy bacon to the top as well as cooking it in the chowder. Some reviews say it was soupy, but before you add the cream at the end, it is pretty thick and it taste great so you can probably adjust the thickness by how much cream you add in. I did not add it all and it left it a nice chowder consistency. My only complaint is that I wasn't able to make a full pot! Served with homemade dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Very good, easy and fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did as other reviews suggested by using chicken stock instead of water, adding a can of corn kernels along with the creamed corn, and also keeping the bacon to sprinkle on at the end so that it retains it's crispiness. After I added the half and half at the end, I felt it watered down the chowder consistency to more of a soup, but by the next day the consistency was back up to being thick and creamy like a chowder. Will definitely make again. A simple, tasty soup for cold winter nights. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very yummy rib stickin chowder. I did what others suggested and used chicken broth instead of water and evaporated milk to save on the fat. But, I also used almost a pound of bacon, with fat trimmed alittle leftover ham and used 2 cans of creamed corn and 4 ears of corn off the cob. I put all together in a stock pot on low on stovetop, it's simmering now.. but I did sneak a couple spoonfuls and it's yummmmmy. Gonna serve in bread bowls with salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! This is the best soup I have ever made! I added some ham along with the bacon and substituted one of the cans of cream corn with one can of regular whole kernel corn. I served it with biscuits and even my husband, who normally hates corn chowder, loved it and ate 3 bowls! It definitely made a lot and we were a little sick of it by the end of the week so next time, I will make this for company. Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I make a lot of soup and I'm good at it. I tried this recipe and my 22 year old son said that this might be the best ever!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this for my Grandma and she said it was really good. The only suggestion she had was not to use cheap canned cream corn, the better the brand the better quality of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brettina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delish! I followed the recipe exactly except I left the bacon out for a garnish as other reviewers suggested and did use 1 cup of regular canned corn instead of all creamed corn. It was definitely not a thick chowder, more soupy. Served with crescent rolls and a salad for a perfect winter night meal. Had plenty left to freeze too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States