Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I modified this recipe quite a bit simply because it could be more flavorful. I used chicken broth instead of water - I used about 4.5 cups only because I added more stuff, added a dash of cayenne pepper, teaspoon of dried chives and parsley, 1/2 tsp turmeric. I used a large onion instead of a medium, 4 cloves of garlic, 2 (or 3) stalks of celery diced, 2 carrots sliced thinly and fried these on medium-low in olive oil. I also fried in olive oil the potatoes with a dash of salt and pepper and again a dash of turmeric. Then I added these to the chowder. I too like a thicker chowder and used 3 cans of cream style corn, 1 small bag of frozen corn. I also used 1 large ham steak chopped instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
followed recipe except used Chicken Broth, found it a little bland, added red chili flakes, really wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Just made this soup, Fabulous! I made a few changes to make it a little more figure friendly. I used low sodium chicken stock rather than water, added 1 cup of frozen corn, and only added 3/4 of a cup of fat free 1/2 and 1/2. I also added some dried thyme. The soup was rich and delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Good standard fare. Easy to cook and sustaining to eat...good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Musser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I too,used chicken stock and used half the salt.This recipe is the one to reach for. It is real easy to double!!!...Bonus!!! Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Really good and really simple. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good!!! Friends and Family enjoyed!! We substituted chicken broth for the water and heavy cream for the half-and-half. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very easy and good recipe. I use milk instead of half-and-half to cut the fat and use a mixer at the end to make the potatoes a little mushed in. That's just how I like it and it's great. I've also tried thickening the milk with a rue before adding to the soup and it makes it super creamy without all the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Yummy! Per other reviews, I replaced the water with chicken broth, used 2 cans cream corn and 1 whole kernel corn, and used some bacon for garnish (in addition to what's in the soup). Flavor was outstanding! It was definitely soupy, though, and the potatoes took forever to cook. Next time I will dice the potatoes good and small, cut back on the liquid, and either smash potatoes or add Wondra to increase thickness if needed. Will definitely make again, though. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States