Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made as written but exchanged chicken stock for water and used mixture of froz corn/creamed corn. Also added ham, red pepper & bay leaf. Used milk instead of half/half and added a little less so the soup was thicker. This was really good, the kids even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Attention Vegetarians! I made this without the bacon, and it was great. I used a purple onion and vegetable broth in place of the water for more flavor. I used 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2, and one cup So Delicious Coconut Milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used a small package of bacon, added a sprinkle of garlic powder and significantly reduced the onion. Two cans of creamed corn and one can of whole kernel corn. Would have liked to add a third of the creamed corn but figured I wanted to taste the end results and may opt to do that next time. Also used the fat free half and half. Liked this and will make it again -with the addition of that third can of creamed corn. I just prefer a bit thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Absolutely delicious and much healthier once I made 4 changes. 1. Low sodium chicken broth instead of water. 2. Use a bag of frozen corn instead of creamed. 3. Use canadian bacon instead of greasy bacon 4. 1/2 cup of half-and-half plus a 1 1/2 cup 0% Greek yogurt. Really cuts down on the calories and still tastes rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laplander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My new FAVORITE soup recipe! It's the perfect meal on a cold blustery day. Did ham instead of bacon and added grilled chicken! Super easy to make and my family devoured it! Served with warm homemade rolls and salad! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
thank you so much. my husband loved it and so did the rest of the family. i served with a great bread and a delicious dessert. all my friends want to know my secret. i say, "allrecipes". thank you ckincaid1. marie & darrel from sc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
After looking at several corn chowder recipes I decided to try this one. It turned out really good. I did make a few small changes. I felt like it needed more corn so I used 3 cans of cream style corn and one can of regular corn. I used fat free half and half and also added a can of evaporated milk. After cooking the bacon, onion and potatoes I put it in my crockpot with the water and let it cook for aboout 3 hours, until the potatoes were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I don't eat bacon, so I used a little butter instead. Other than that, I have made this numerous times- most times as written, sometimes I add some diced/ shredded chicken, if I have any from leftovers. Let me just say- WOW! I love corn chowder, and was hunting for a recipe I could make and put in bread bowls-mmmmm. After finding this one and making it the first time- we were hooked! Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by InsanelySweet
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent- but if you want it thicker here's what I did. I didn't use bacon at all. I added 3 tablespoons butter to the onion and cooked until the onions were soft. Added 3 tablespoons flour and slowly whisked in 2 cups chicken broth until thickened. I used the cream style corn plus a can of sweet corn. I added the half and half at the end and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InsanelySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I forgot to add the 1/2 and 1/2 at the end but it was still really delicious. Next time I'll add the cream and I'm sure it'll be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States