Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This chowder was a big hit at a church dinner! I modified the recipe by mixing everything together in a large crock pot and cooked overnight. I followed the directions of adding the half and half at the end. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Quantico, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I have been looking for an easy, tasty corn chowder recipe, and this one fits the bill nicely! I used chicken broth instead of water, ham instead of bacon, two cans of cream corn and one whole kernal (undrained) and left the skin on the potatos. I served this with the Kentucky Biscuits from this site and have to say: Yum! Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Wow! This soup was so good. My husband is a big fan of corn chowder, as he orders it every time we go eat out. He said that this was the best he had ever had, and that this recipe was a keeper. I only made a few small adjustments. While cooking I left a bit more bacon grease in, and I also added chiken bouillon to the 2 cups of water. To top it off I sprinkled shredded chedder cheese on the top and let it melt a little before serving. I will not be looking for another corn chowder recipe, this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Awesome corn chowder! I made a couple changes, but it is so delicious! I substituted 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth for water and 2 cups evaporated milk for half-and half and added 2 tsp ground thyme....Fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeleine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This one is a keeper! I followed the original recipe except added chicken broth instead of water. Super easy to make and absolutely delicious. Tasted even better for left-overs, the bacon flavor was even more developed. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Oh, sooooo good! I made it exactly as the recipe says and it was awesome. Have tried various corn chowder recipes before (usually with chicken) and never cared for them, but the bacon was just right! Be sure not to skip the step of lightly browning the potatoes and onions with the bacon and drippings as I think this really develops the flavors. Will probably try it with milk instead of the half-and-half and may possibly try reducing the salt, but otherwise, this is a wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was a great starter recipe for me. I didn't use bacon. I substituted chicken stock for the water. I added chicken, green bell peppers, and substituted fresh corn for canned. I made a roux with butter and flour to thicken it. After adding the heavy cream and a pinch of nutmeg, I had a soup that got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I thought this recipe was very good. We used vegetable oil instead of bacon and it still turned out great, so if anyone wants a vegetarian freindly version i sugest using oil.The taste was very good and the potatos added great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was the first time making corn chowder and this recipe is the best! I took the suggestions of using chicken broth instead of water and mixed cream corn with fresh corn. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Yummy! My Grandma also made this. Instead of bacon, try frying a little old fashioned salt pork cubes to sprinkle on the top and thicken the soup with instant mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States