Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
My 12 year old LOVED this. I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out wonderful. It is my first time ever making or even seeing corn chowder! Thanks for this easy recipe that I will pass down to my daughter that wants to be a chef:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brightstarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
So. Much. Corn. I give it 3 stars because my husband liked it enough to eat it, but I just felt like I was eating a bowl of overcooked corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Absolutely fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aceofhearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I just finished making ths recipe. Love this corn chowder. I changed a few things to make it my own. Instead of water,I used chicken broth and Instead of half & half, I made a roux with butter and milk. Topped with a little cheddar cheese. I will make it again... soon! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was very good, but next time I'll try a few things different. I prefer it with more corn so I added another can of creamed corn. Next time I'll try 2 cans of creamed corn and 1 can regular corn. I also thought it could use a bit more flavor so I'll take others' recommendations and use chicken broth instead of water. But overall it was very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is easy to make and it is delicious. It is so fast that is has become a regular in our household. The only change I made was adding cornstarch to the mixture, after adding the cream. I prefer my soups thick and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was awesome chowder,Ive always loved corn chowder however, This was the first time making it. This was so easy to make. I added a teaspoon of bacon drippings. The flavor was perfect.I must say it was better the next day when reheated :). This is a recipe that I will pass down to my kids and grandkids, Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I love this recipe as a basis for what it can become. First off, I replaced the water with chicken broth. I only added one can of cream of corn and add the rest with frozen corn. ( I added a lot because I love it thick!)Then I added one package of KNORR Vegetable Recipe Mix. I also substituted Heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. I only added a half a cup of that. It turned out Amazing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Love this recipe and have been using it for a couple years. I've made some modifications: 3 cans of creamed corn, 2 cans of sweet corn, chicken broth substituted for the water and several more potatoes. (My family loves a hearty meal!) It tastes delicious and the leftovers never last long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was a fantastic base for a chicken corn chowder my husband and I wanted to make. We mostly followed the instructions, but instead of using bacon I used ghee to saute the vegetables. I also added baby carrots, a rotisserie chicken and some diced bell pepper. I used 1 can of cream corn and 1 can of regular corn. Instead of cooking everything in water I used chicken broth. It was hit all around, and we had enough soup to last us for days! Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diochick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Ringgold, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States