Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Didn't change a thing. Made it with sweet rolls. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was so easy to make, I love it! I couldn't stop eating it. The only thing I did differently was added more bacon, more corn and I used regular canned corn instead of cream corn. I used 2.5 cans of corn, might even use 3 next time! This will be a normal occurance in my house :) Thanks Grandma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Really easy but not much flavor. And it really needs more corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great chowder! I'm vegetarian so I omitted the bacon and added green chilies. The flavor was great and was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Perfect base for your corn-chowder whims, easy, and super yummy? This recipe is made of win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
like others i used chicken broth instead of water . i also used 1 can of evaporated milk and the rest regular milk and i used frozen corn not cream style (as it was what i had at the moment) and i added a tsp of thyme and a spoonful of butter . i ate the whole thing!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I make this recipe just like it's written a few times per month and it is DELICIOUS! I don't change a thing except, I think I tend to leave a little more of the bacon fat in the pot than 2 tablespoons. Since I usually halve the recipe I just cook 3 strips of bacon for a half recipe and I leave all of the bacon fat in the pot that accumulates and then I go on to the next step and add the potatoes and onions which I cook in the bacon grease like the recipe says too. Great recipe and I had never made any kind of chowder until I made this so it's really easy too. You will love it guaranteed. It'll become a favorite, no doubt in my mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Made this with regular corn and no dairy at all. Used 3 cups of chicken broth instead of water. I also pureed about 3 cups of it. Saved the crumbled bacon to sprinkle on top after ladling it into bowls. We loved it! Next time, I'll cut the potatoes much smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have made this recipe dozens of times for my husband and he just keeps requesting it. It's fantastic just the way it is. I found no need for adjustments. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made as written but exchanged chicken stock for water and used mixture of froz corn/creamed corn. Also added ham, red pepper & bay leaf. Used milk instead of half/half and added a little less so the soup was thicker. This was really good, the kids even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States