Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is the chowder that my mom used to make for us growing up... I followed the recipe almost to a tee - just used 2 cans of cream of corn, 1 can of low fat evaporated milk (I don't have any half and half around) 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth and used some slap yo mama cajun spice. It was delish with my knockoff red lobster cheddar biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkikoGurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved the recipe - used chicken broth instead of water. Added 2 T. sugar to add a little boost to the sweet corn. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fjord Horse Lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My family and I love this meal. I used chicken broth instead of water as suggested by others. Also, I used 5 cans of creamed corn and alot more potatoes as we like it a bit more dense then the original receipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Really good. I substituted the chicken broth and used sour dough bowls. We had a aside of veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This soup was easy to make and perfect for a cold day. It took a little longer to get the potatoes soft than the recipe says. I would also add a little more bacon than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This didn't work well for me even using chicken stock instead of water, but it was also my first try with corn chowder. I found it pretty bland and thin. I incorporated a simple roux of flour and butter which provided a decent thickening effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Just made this. And I "didnt" make modifications. My soup is great! By far not thin. In fact its thick and creamy. YUM!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this as part of an effort to use up pantry staples and was rewarded. I never make soup without doubling the recipe, as I like to have leftovers for lunch or to freeze. Changes (many of them inspired by other reviewers) included: included diced celery and carrot at the sautee stage, used chicken stock instead of water (mine happened to be unsalted), used a combination of creamed corn and kernal corn, used evaporated milk instead of cream and a bit less than the amount of cream called for due to the can size (didn't heat separately - just slowly heated in the soup), added about 1 tsp dried thyme leaves, used less salt than called for (suggest you start with half the amount and taste and add from there as needed), added a generous handful of chopped parsley and freshly ground pepper to finish. Thought thickness was just perfect (both potatoes and corn contributed to the consistency) and didn't feel the need for flour. A great base recipe that I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is some of the best corn chowder I've ever tasted. Followed the directions to a tee and it turned out great. Just want to add a comment to those that have changed things in this recipe and then giving it 3 or 4 stars. I just don't understand the reasoning. Anyway, it's a great recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
MMM,MMM,MMMMM GOOD!! I just made this for the first time tonight and boy was it soo good!!! I made some modifications based on other reviews to fit my family's likes: 1lb. thick cut bacon fried to just barely crispy, reserved about 1/4C. drippings, 6 med potatoes cubed small(1/4 inch maybe) 2 cans creamed corn, 1 can whole corn with juice, 1 can chicken broth and a little heavy whipping cream and cooked as directed. Now, I have never had corn chowder before and was starting to get a little nervous towards the end because when I tasted it, it kind of reminded me of cream corn with a little smokiness to it but after I added the whipping cream and let it cook for a while longer it took on a whole nother flavor! I was very pleased with how it turned out and my family just loved it ( and they can be quite picky) Deffintly something I am going to make during these cold winter months, next time I am going to serve with some cheddar garlic biscuits just to add a little something extra to the meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States