Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Great corn chowder recipe. I gave it four stars only because I did make some changes that other have mentioned that I believe made it a bit better than the recipe as written. First of all, I doubled the bacon for my bacon loving husband. I did as others have mentioned... used chicken stock instead of water and I used two cans of creamed corn and one of regular corn that I did not drain. We really enjoyed this chowder and my husband and son both requested that I make it again. I think this is a very versatile recipe that you could experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I have made this twice using fat free half and half. It is the best!! Makin a batch right now to enjoy during the storm. Great with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I added a little more corn to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kolbe
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Simple, delicious, and hearty! I have also substituted turkey bacon and fat free evaporated milk for a lower fat version and loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Love it. Used chicken stock instead of water and added cayenne pepper for zip. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shuluva
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I don't always make it with bacon, but it comes out fabulous either way!! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I substituted 2 cups water and 2 cups half and half for 4 cups milk, because it's what I had on hand, and it worked well! I don't love cream corn so used non-cream. My suggestions: add bacon at the END so it's still crispy, add garlic, ADD THYME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Tried to stay as close to recipe but had to adjust for gluten-free and onion allergy. Used total of 3 cans sweet corn, mashing 1 cup in food processor. Used 12oz. & 5oz. cans of evaporated milk, no half & half on hand. After potatoes were tender brought to boiling and added 2 Tbsp. corn starch dissolved in 1/4 cup water (because creamed corn could not be used.) When thickened, removed from heat and stirred in warmed milk. Received rave reviews from everyone who tried it. SIL had introduced me to corn chowder & was surprised at how much better this recipe was than her's. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Best chowder yet! I did add one red pepper. Also, I used 1 cup whole milk and 1 cup cream, I didn't have half and half! Ill make this all winter long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I use chicken broth in place of water. Other then that I make it just as the recipe calls for and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States