Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Everyone but Matthew liked this soup. I'd make it earlier in the day and let the flavors meld together more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe! I also boiled a ham hock for an hour in broth, then used that as the base. I used two cream corn cans and one whole kernel. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarcieRB
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Big hit! Easy recipe and yummy! Added a bag of frozen corn and some shrimp the second time I made it. Will be using this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Holy Moly this is OUTSTANDING!!! Followed the recipe (doubled it actually, we like left overs) - but substituted chicken broth for water - WOW!! An instant family favorite!! Super easy and SUPER delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McHugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
First, I caramelized 3/4 of a large yellow onion in country crock butter spread (about 4-10 teaspoons) on medium high heat, enough to prevent onion from sticking to bottom of soup pot. I caramelized thoroughly – past the point of tender to the point of a smoky brown color and smell. Then I added in the 4 medium peeled and chopped (I used Idaho Russet) potatoes and 3 peeled and diced small to medium sized organic (I used Trader Joe’s brand) carrots. I added in some more butter spread to prevent sticking when sautéing the potatoes, carrots and onions. I sautéed the caramelized onion, potatoes and carrots for 10-15 minutes on medium heat. Then I added in 2 cups of warm water, 1 chicken bouillon cube, ½ cup of McCormick’s fake bacon bits and 2 (14.5 oz.) cans of cream style corn. I omitted the salt & pepper since I like my chowder sweet. I brought the chowder to a brief boil and then turned to “low” (2-3). I simmered for 40 mins or more, stirring occasionally. When the potatoes were tender – I used an immersion hand blender to briefly blend the now tender chunks of potatoes and carrots. I substituted the half and half by adding 2 tablespoons of the butter spread and 2 cups of 2% milk. I served the chowder with chopped green onion, oyster crackers and a dash of cayenne pepper to give it a little zing. It tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was so good! I admit I deleted the bacon and added a grated carot instead since I didn't have bacon. It was still so very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
A pretty good recipe. I like my chowder to be a little thicker than this one though. However, I did like it overall. When I made it, I used 1 cup of water and 1 cup of chicken broth instead of the suggested 2 cups of water. I feel like that was the right choice for my taste. I only had Russet potatoes which worked fine but I think the suggested red potatoes would have been better if you have them on hand. I felt like there should have been more corn in it. Next time I think I will add 4.5 cups of creamed corn instead of the suggested 3 cups. As with any recipe I find, I would also recommend using a little bit more bacon than the suggested amount ;) Nice recipe overall though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I'm making this for my family, plus an army of band students... so doubled the recipe, plus added 1lb chopped chicken breast, to make it more of a meal. Used 2 chubs of cream corn (20oz) plus 2 cups frozen whole corn. Very yummy!! I used used chicken broth + water to cook the potatoes. When it cooks down, using whole milk and real butter, for economy. I sauteed the bacon with onion and chicken, to save time - mistake. You really need to render the bacon fat and make the bacon crisp. Still, it's still an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Love this recipe! I don't peel the potatoes because that's where all the nutrients is. That's about all I changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Pie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Spot on! Many thanks poster for this one. It turns out beautifully just as is. Simple to make and easy. The only small change I made was I added a tsp or so of cooking oil as the bacon I had was not putting out much in the way of drippings. Everything else was perfect. Awesome flavor. Will definitely be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Rudolph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States