Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
A pretty good recipe. I like my chowder to be a little thicker than this one though. However, I did like it overall. When I made it, I used 1 cup of water and 1 cup of chicken broth instead of the suggested 2 cups of water. I feel like that was the right choice for my taste. I only had Russet potatoes which worked fine but I think the suggested red potatoes would have been better if you have them on hand. I felt like there should have been more corn in it. Next time I think I will add 4.5 cups of creamed corn instead of the suggested 3 cups. As with any recipe I find, I would also recommend using a little bit more bacon than the suggested amount ;) Nice recipe overall though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I'm making this for my family, plus an army of band students... so doubled the recipe, plus added 1lb chopped chicken breast, to make it more of a meal. Used 2 chubs of cream corn (20oz) plus 2 cups frozen whole corn. Very yummy!! I used used chicken broth + water to cook the potatoes. When it cooks down, using whole milk and real butter, for economy. I sauteed the bacon with onion and chicken, to save time - mistake. You really need to render the bacon fat and make the bacon crisp. Still, it's still an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Love this recipe! I don't peel the potatoes because that's where all the nutrients is. That's about all I changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Pie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Spot on! Many thanks poster for this one. It turns out beautifully just as is. Simple to make and easy. The only small change I made was I added a tsp or so of cooking oil as the bacon I had was not putting out much in the way of drippings. Everything else was perfect. Awesome flavor. Will definitely be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Rudolph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Good recipe, but I like when I used frozen corn instead of canned corn. Also, I needed to some how make it thicker. Other than that it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My picky family enjoyed it immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa S Crow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great for hurricane weather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Wow!this corn chowder tastes exactly like the one I ate in elementary. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe produces a creamy and rich corn chowder. It's great as is or with embellishments. I added 3 ears of fresh corn, chicken broth instead of water and just one cup of half and half. No bacon but did have some organic bacon drippings for sautéing. I used a Cuisinart immersion blender on approx. 1 cup of the soup and added it back in before adding the half and half. This method always produces a creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Making it for the 2nd time this week!! Everyone loves it! I make it exactly to recipe but also add a can of regular sweet corn and chicken broth instead of water! FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Arsenault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States