Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was pretty good although it didn't taste how I expected... I basically followed the recipe but added a couple of things so it would taste like the flavor I love from scalloped corn-- 1/2 green pepper, 1/4 red pepper, 1 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp. dry mustard. I also used a little bit more of the bacon grease than called for. The end result was pretty tasty but I would have added in more corn for sure... still seems like it is missing something but I am not sure what. Oh--and I also added chicken bullion to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Instead of bacon I use ham or polish sausage. I also added some diced green and red pepper and added a teaspoon of Tabasco for a little extra kick. One of my family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARELA10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
i use chicken broth instead of water and add lots of pepper, its so delicious and comforting. I'm about to make a big pot full on this stormy day for my family and my parents with some homemade rolls..mmm mmm mmmmm!! belly's growling and mouth's watering as i type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobnBird

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I modified this recipe quite a bit simply because it could be more flavorful. I used chicken broth instead of water - I used about 4.5 cups only because I added more stuff, added a dash of cayenne pepper, teaspoon of dried chives and parsley, 1/2 tsp turmeric. I used a large onion instead of a medium, 4 cloves of garlic, 2 (or 3) stalks of celery diced, 2 carrots sliced thinly and fried these on medium-low in olive oil. I also fried in olive oil the potatoes with a dash of salt and pepper and again a dash of turmeric. Then I added these to the chowder. I too like a thicker chowder and used 3 cans of cream style corn, 1 small bag of frozen corn. I also used 1 large ham steak chopped instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
followed recipe except used Chicken Broth, found it a little bland, added red chili flakes, really wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garnet Serniak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Just made this soup, Fabulous! I made a few changes to make it a little more figure friendly. I used low sodium chicken stock rather than water, added 1 cup of frozen corn, and only added 3/4 of a cup of fat free 1/2 and 1/2. I also added some dried thyme. The soup was rich and delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Good standard fare. Easy to cook and sustaining to eat...good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Musser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I too,used chicken stock and used half the salt.This recipe is the one to reach for. It is real easy to double!!!...Bonus!!! Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Really good and really simple. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States