Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Just made this soup, Fabulous! I made a few changes to make it a little more figure friendly. I used low sodium chicken stock rather than water, added 1 cup of frozen corn, and only added 3/4 of a cup of fat free 1/2 and 1/2. I also added some dried thyme. The soup was rich and delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Good standard fare. Easy to cook and sustaining to eat...good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Musser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I too,used chicken stock and used half the salt.This recipe is the one to reach for. It is real easy to double!!!...Bonus!!! Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Really good and really simple. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good!!! Friends and Family enjoyed!! We substituted chicken broth for the water and heavy cream for the half-and-half. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very easy and good recipe. I use milk instead of half-and-half to cut the fat and use a mixer at the end to make the potatoes a little mushed in. That's just how I like it and it's great. I've also tried thickening the milk with a rue before adding to the soup and it makes it super creamy without all the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Yummy! Per other reviews, I replaced the water with chicken broth, used 2 cans cream corn and 1 whole kernel corn, and used some bacon for garnish (in addition to what's in the soup). Flavor was outstanding! It was definitely soupy, though, and the potatoes took forever to cook. Next time I will dice the potatoes good and small, cut back on the liquid, and either smash potatoes or add Wondra to increase thickness if needed. Will definitely make again, though. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I thought this recipe was great!! My picky 11 year old daughter and 22 month old son even liked it. I used evaporation milk because thats what I had on hand. I would have liked it to be a little thicker so I will try half and half next time. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I would also have liked a little more corn so I will probably add an addtional can of whole kernal corn. I will be making this again real soon. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This soup is easy to make, but it was just too sweet and salty for us. I would recommend just using 1 can of cream-style corn and then enough frozen corn to get 3 cups total to cut the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States