Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is very similar to how I make my New England Chowder. This is very good...and it tastes even more spectacular the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elkdag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe except that I used 6 potatoes and substituted half of the corn with whole kernel. Creamy, thick & delicious!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Although I used fat free half and half, the chowder was still very tasty and one that I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Wow! Soo good. I used Kilbasa instead of bacon. My family loves spices so I added a touch of nutmeg, a tablespoon of seasoned salt, and some crushed red pepper. I also added a bag of frozed corn. This was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved it! I have so much leftovers! I cooked it just for the husband and myself. Corn Chowder is my all time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acton, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very Delicious! Followed the recipe to a T, just wish it was a little thicker. I will definitely be experimenting with this recipe! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beylia
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This corn chowder is pretty great with a few very minor changes. Definitely substitute chicken stock for the water. I also used 2 cans of cream corn and 1 can regular corn otherwise I find it too sweet. I did find that I had to thicken it at the end because it was thinner than I like for chowder (good consistency for a basic cream soup however). At the end I put in a little bit of nutmeg as per a previous reviewer's suggestion and it was perfect with it. It wasn't really noticeable but it was enough to make you say "Mmmm what is that?". After cooking it, I left the bacon out until the end and sprinkled it on top in order to keep some of the crunchy texture. It tasted even better the second day. Overall, this was a fabulous recipe and I will be making it often! Thank you for the lovely recipe. It reminds me of when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is a great soup. I've made it twice and the first time I said I would use regular milk instead of the half-and-half. I guess I forgot because I made it the same way the second time. I find that the half-and-half is too rich and you can really taste it. Next time I will use regular milk to not get that cream taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJackman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was wonderful!! The only change I made was I used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States