Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I thought this was a decent chowder, but nothing fantastic. The chowder was very thin so I added a roux like others had suggested. I also substituted the water with chicken broth, added a pinch of nutmeg as others did, and halved the salt. Something wasn't right....can't place my finger on it though. I'll try this recipe again....maybe without the modifications...maybe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by met_atm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is pretty good. Needs some tweaking for sure as others have said. I sub turkey sausage for the bacon, chicken broth for the water, use fat free 1/2 and 1/2, leave the skin on the red potatos, and I add red pepper, green pepper, shredded carrot. I garnish w cilantro. Super easy and a good, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I never cook but, this was quick easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Perfect for colder weather, good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Delicious! Made changes that others suggested: chicken stock instead of water few dashes of nutmeg blended it all up with the hand mixer used red potatoes w/some skins on used all the bacon grease top with cheddar cheese and green onions when serving! Yum!!! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I've never had corn chowder but love corn so I gave this recipe a try and it's fantasic. I had nothing to compare this to so I brought it to work and EVERYONE loves it. As other people had suggested broth instead of water, I followed the recipe as stated except I did 1 cup broth and 1 cup water (I ran out of broth). This is one that I will keep and make time and time again. I've made this multiple times since I initially reviewed this recipe. I've cooked my bacon in the pot that I end up using for the chowder. The bacon residue ended up sticking to the bottom of the pot and when I let the chowder simmer, all that bacon-y goodness gets incorporated into the chowder. Very yummy suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Made this with minimal modifications. I used low sodium chicken broth in place of the water, and used fresh corn cut from the cob and the cobs scraped for their milkiness. Also added 1/2 t. of dried thyme and 4 slices of American cheese. Additionally, I used non-fat half and half (how do they get the fat out???) This was absolutely FANTASTIC! I'm certain it would be just as great as written! Next time, maybe I'll try adding some sherry, and/or a little dash of tabasco as well! I'll be making this again and again! Thanks for the recipe, and many thanks to "Grandma" also!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprtsracer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I was looking for a reciepe different than my tex-mex corn chowder. This one was good but i made a few changes. Being vegetarian i used veggie stock and no bacon. I used a roux and cream and added a little chili powder for a kick. I served with croutons and chedder cheese on top and buttermilk biscuits on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Quick and easy, and a big hit for today's lunch! I had potatoes leftover from the Honey Roasted Red Potatoes recipe from this site, so I used those and added them in with the corn. I omitted the salt from the recipe since the bacon is already salty and my potatoes were cooked in salted water. I added the half and half to the pot without warming it first. I lowered the heat and added it, when it started to simmer, I turned the stove off. The key is to not let it come to a boil since that may cause the half and half to separate and make the chowder watery. To keep a skin from forming on your chowder as it cools, pour it into a serving dish and place a piece of plastic wrap or waxed paper directly on top of the chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great soup! I've made this with and without bacon and it's good both ways. I also use just 1 teaspoon of salt and add 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit. It's also nice to just leave the skins on the potatoes especially if you're using red skinned potatoes. I've also added chicken broth in place of the water for a flavor boost. Any way you make it, this recipe is a great basic recipe and can be altered and still turn out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States