Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Corn chowder is a childhood comfort food for me, but it never tasted this good! Followed the prep directions exactly, but changed some of the ingredients. I doubled the bacon (1 cup), added fresh corn, subbed water for chicken broth, and added a touch of store bought demi glace. Also, loaded it up with freshly cracked pepper, topped it with fresh cilantro and a touch of sour cream. These small changes made for an exquisite bowl of comfort. I froze it to see if it would keep for later, but it just didn't taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Good quick recipe. I changed the servings to 2, didn't have bacon, but had two slices of prosciutto whick I chopped and fried as bacon. Didn't have creamed corn, but frozen corn worked well. Used half & half and about 1 TBLS butter and mashed the potatoes a little to thicken slightly. Also added some nutmeg (fresh grated) at the end-just a touch. Very good despite not having the exact ingredients. This was a really quick homemade chowder and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Perfect for a New England rainy day! Good consistency - not too thick and not too watery. Biscuits on the side were the perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Loved this recipe. I did change it a little...used 2 cans creamed corn and one whole kernels. Also used half and half and chicken broth and 2 tbsp curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I felt this needed some flour to thicken it up. Otherwise it tasted fine. I topped it with cheddar and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
It was very good. I did like some of the others did and subed chicken broth for water. I also used two cans of cream corn and a half can of mexican corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is sooo good reminded me of a outback potato soup. I left out the half and half and I made homemade cream corn to put in. I will deff be making this again once a month! Very tasty. My husband and 2 year old loved it to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rgaff4208

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This turned out great! I left out the bacon and added a couple of extra pinches of salt and sugar. I also used skim milk and two tablespoons of cornstarch in addition to the flour in the recipe to make the soup a bit thicker. Only used 4 potatoes, though I'm sure 6 would have been fine. I cooked it on high for about 30 minutes until the veggies were mashable, then used my potato mashed to break up the veggies in the soup. When it was done, I thought it was a bit bland (I'm sure part of this is because I didn't use bacon), so I added several shakes of ground pepper and about 4-5 jalapeno slices from the jar, along with about 6 tablespoons of the jalapeno juice. It added a nice subtle kick without being too overpowering. May try it next time with the bacon, or even used cubed ham. I thought canned green chiles might be good, too, for a SW style soup. Will definitely be keeping this recipe around for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is exactly like what my mom made when I was a kid. I absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States