Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Loved this recipe. I did change it a little...used 2 cans creamed corn and one whole kernels. Also used half and half and chicken broth and 2 tbsp curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I felt this needed some flour to thicken it up. Otherwise it tasted fine. I topped it with cheddar and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
It was very good. I did like some of the others did and subed chicken broth for water. I also used two cans of cream corn and a half can of mexican corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is sooo good reminded me of a outback potato soup. I left out the half and half and I made homemade cream corn to put in. I will deff be making this again once a month! Very tasty. My husband and 2 year old loved it to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rgaff4208

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This turned out great! I left out the bacon and added a couple of extra pinches of salt and sugar. I also used skim milk and two tablespoons of cornstarch in addition to the flour in the recipe to make the soup a bit thicker. Only used 4 potatoes, though I'm sure 6 would have been fine. I cooked it on high for about 30 minutes until the veggies were mashable, then used my potato mashed to break up the veggies in the soup. When it was done, I thought it was a bit bland (I'm sure part of this is because I didn't use bacon), so I added several shakes of ground pepper and about 4-5 jalapeno slices from the jar, along with about 6 tablespoons of the jalapeno juice. It added a nice subtle kick without being too overpowering. May try it next time with the bacon, or even used cubed ham. I thought canned green chiles might be good, too, for a SW style soup. Will definitely be keeping this recipe around for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is exactly like what my mom made when I was a kid. I absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I thought this was a decent chowder, but nothing fantastic. The chowder was very thin so I added a roux like others had suggested. I also substituted the water with chicken broth, added a pinch of nutmeg as others did, and halved the salt. Something wasn't right....can't place my finger on it though. I'll try this recipe again....maybe without the modifications...maybe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by met_atm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is pretty good. Needs some tweaking for sure as others have said. I sub turkey sausage for the bacon, chicken broth for the water, use fat free 1/2 and 1/2, leave the skin on the red potatos, and I add red pepper, green pepper, shredded carrot. I garnish w cilantro. Super easy and a good, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I never cook but, this was quick easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Perfect for colder weather, good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States