Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Quick and easy, and a big hit for today's lunch! I had potatoes leftover from the Honey Roasted Red Potatoes recipe from this site, so I used those and added them in with the corn. I omitted the salt from the recipe since the bacon is already salty and my potatoes were cooked in salted water. I added the half and half to the pot without warming it first. I lowered the heat and added it, when it started to simmer, I turned the stove off. The key is to not let it come to a boil since that may cause the half and half to separate and make the chowder watery. To keep a skin from forming on your chowder as it cools, pour it into a serving dish and place a piece of plastic wrap or waxed paper directly on top of the chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great soup! I've made this with and without bacon and it's good both ways. I also use just 1 teaspoon of salt and add 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit. It's also nice to just leave the skins on the potatoes especially if you're using red skinned potatoes. I've also added chicken broth in place of the water for a flavor boost. Any way you make it, this recipe is a great basic recipe and can be altered and still turn out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was pretty good although it didn't taste how I expected... I basically followed the recipe but added a couple of things so it would taste like the flavor I love from scalloped corn-- 1/2 green pepper, 1/4 red pepper, 1 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp. dry mustard. I also used a little bit more of the bacon grease than called for. The end result was pretty tasty but I would have added in more corn for sure... still seems like it is missing something but I am not sure what. Oh--and I also added chicken bullion to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Instead of bacon I use ham or polish sausage. I also added some diced green and red pepper and added a teaspoon of Tabasco for a little extra kick. One of my family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARELA10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
i use chicken broth instead of water and add lots of pepper, its so delicious and comforting. I'm about to make a big pot full on this stormy day for my family and my parents with some homemade rolls..mmm mmm mmmmm!! belly's growling and mouth's watering as i type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobnBird

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I modified this recipe quite a bit simply because it could be more flavorful. I used chicken broth instead of water - I used about 4.5 cups only because I added more stuff, added a dash of cayenne pepper, teaspoon of dried chives and parsley, 1/2 tsp turmeric. I used a large onion instead of a medium, 4 cloves of garlic, 2 (or 3) stalks of celery diced, 2 carrots sliced thinly and fried these on medium-low in olive oil. I also fried in olive oil the potatoes with a dash of salt and pepper and again a dash of turmeric. Then I added these to the chowder. I too like a thicker chowder and used 3 cans of cream style corn, 1 small bag of frozen corn. I also used 1 large ham steak chopped instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
followed recipe except used Chicken Broth, found it a little bland, added red chili flakes, really wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Just made this soup, Fabulous! I made a few changes to make it a little more figure friendly. I used low sodium chicken stock rather than water, added 1 cup of frozen corn, and only added 3/4 of a cup of fat free 1/2 and 1/2. I also added some dried thyme. The soup was rich and delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Good standard fare. Easy to cook and sustaining to eat...good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Musser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States