Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this as part of an effort to use up pantry staples and was rewarded. I never make soup without doubling the recipe, as I like to have leftovers for lunch or to freeze. Changes (many of them inspired by other reviewers) included: included diced celery and carrot at the sautee stage, used chicken stock instead of water (mine happened to be unsalted), used a combination of creamed corn and kernal corn, used evaporated milk instead of cream and a bit less than the amount of cream called for due to the can size (didn't heat separately - just slowly heated in the soup), added about 1 tsp dried thyme leaves, used less salt than called for (suggest you start with half the amount and taste and add from there as needed), added a generous handful of chopped parsley and freshly ground pepper to finish. Thought thickness was just perfect (both potatoes and corn contributed to the consistency) and didn't feel the need for flour. A great base recipe that I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is some of the best corn chowder I've ever tasted. Followed the directions to a tee and it turned out great. Just want to add a comment to those that have changed things in this recipe and then giving it 3 or 4 stars. I just don't understand the reasoning. Anyway, it's a great recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
MMM,MMM,MMMMM GOOD!! I just made this for the first time tonight and boy was it soo good!!! I made some modifications based on other reviews to fit my family's likes: 1lb. thick cut bacon fried to just barely crispy, reserved about 1/4C. drippings, 6 med potatoes cubed small(1/4 inch maybe) 2 cans creamed corn, 1 can whole corn with juice, 1 can chicken broth and a little heavy whipping cream and cooked as directed. Now, I have never had corn chowder before and was starting to get a little nervous towards the end because when I tasted it, it kind of reminded me of cream corn with a little smokiness to it but after I added the whipping cream and let it cook for a while longer it took on a whole nother flavor! I was very pleased with how it turned out and my family just loved it ( and they can be quite picky) Deffintly something I am going to make during these cold winter months, next time I am going to serve with some cheddar garlic biscuits just to add a little something extra to the meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Didn't change a thing. Made it with sweet rolls. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was so easy to make, I love it! I couldn't stop eating it. The only thing I did differently was added more bacon, more corn and I used regular canned corn instead of cream corn. I used 2.5 cans of corn, might even use 3 next time! This will be a normal occurance in my house :) Thanks Grandma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Really easy but not much flavor. And it really needs more corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great chowder! I'm vegetarian so I omitted the bacon and added green chilies. The flavor was great and was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Perfect base for your corn-chowder whims, easy, and super yummy? This recipe is made of win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
like others i used chicken broth instead of water . i also used 1 can of evaporated milk and the rest regular milk and i used frozen corn not cream style (as it was what i had at the moment) and i added a tsp of thyme and a spoonful of butter . i ate the whole thing!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I make this recipe just like it's written a few times per month and it is DELICIOUS! I don't change a thing except, I think I tend to leave a little more of the bacon fat in the pot than 2 tablespoons. Since I usually halve the recipe I just cook 3 strips of bacon for a half recipe and I leave all of the bacon fat in the pot that accumulates and then I go on to the next step and add the potatoes and onions which I cook in the bacon grease like the recipe says too. Great recipe and I had never made any kind of chowder until I made this so it's really easy too. You will love it guaranteed. It'll become a favorite, no doubt in my mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States