Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I make this all of the time and love it. Recently I used evaporated milk instead of half and half and love the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this 3 times so far. Exactly as written for bf and myself, and it is wonderful. The bacon gives it a wonderful smokiness. I've also made it vegetarian for my daughter and that was wonderful too, even to the meat eaters....eliminate step one of course, sauté the onion and potatoes in a little butter in step two, and proceed with everything else as written. For both versions I also throw in a small can of whole kernel corn, drained. For potatoes I use small red potatoes, unpeeled. Delicious!!!! Both ways this was a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I didn't have creamed corn so used canned regular and added butter to cooking pot and two tablespoons flour to warmed half & half. Also added half teaspoon sugar. Simple, delicious, will make again. I topped servings with shredded cheese and served with homemade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I used to make a recipe almost identical to this years ago. My only change was to add celery instead of the onion. My teenager had seconds so that is the best recommendation I can give!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sicamous, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was my first time making chowder and it came out fabulous.. my family loved it. I used chicken stock in place of water.. I added the half and half as the recipe says.. I also used a little bit of corn starch mixed with milk to thicken it up a bit. I used cracked black pepper and sea salt to taste. It an easy,delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very good! I puréed the whole batch because I needed a no chewing meal. This did the trick beautifully!! Iwonder how much better it would have been if I had remembered to put the 1/2 & 1/2 in at the end!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Loved this recipe! I used the whole pound of bacon and fried the potatoes and onions in all the drippings. I then added 2 cans creamed corn and 1 bag frozen to a crock pot, adding the potatoes. Cooked on low for several hours. I sauteed some crab meat, shrimp and bay scallops in butter on the side for the adults. Just before serving, a made a roux with butter, flour and evaporated milk and added that to the soup. I placed the seafood in a bowl and topped it with the corn chowder. The kids enjoyed just the chowder. It was a huge hit. Next time I will serve in bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaWicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I changed this up a little, I stew a chicken then use the broth instead of water and tear the chicken up and add at the end. Also add mushrooms with the other vegetables. We love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have always wanted to make corn chowder and came upon this recipe, I had to try it. It was so yummy, my husband and kids ate it up! Great flavor and perfect for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was a decent corn chowder, although I think it needed a bit more flavor. Like another reviewer, I also added a butter/flour roux to make it thicker so it was more chowder-like. I think this would be great to make when corn is in season so it would have that sweeter, fresher taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States