Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I added a few changes just for personal taste as I was craving a more Hawaiian style corn chowder, but seriously this recipe would be amazing as is.. all I did was use 2 cups creamed corn and subbed the last cup for cream of mushroom soup and added 1 can of sweet corn drained. I also added half a can of diced pan fried spam or u can use Portuguese sausage and since I love a thick chowder, I simmered for 15 minutes longer after adding the half and half with 1/4 cup flour. . Delicious and not a serving left for a family of 6.. we indulged with a loaf of home made garlic bread.. this is a keeper for sure!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Mangus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Just made this today ... I put a twist on it using distilled water and organic half n half as well as himalayan sea salt, it was so simple and easy to make it tasted amazing and my family begged for a second bowl!!! Will def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven Cassidy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, and it was fantastic. The chowder was creamy without being heavy, and the salt was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I just tried this tonight. Definitely a keeper! I only had one can of creamed corn so I added two more canfulls of frozen corn. I just used water like the recipe called for and was going to taste and see if it needed chicken bullion but I didn't think that it did so I left it. I did however sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top in my bowl & I liked it so much that I ended up adding about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the pot of soup and it was super delicious! I will probably keep it that way in the future. I couldn't get enough of this soup and will definitely be making it regularly. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Made this today it was so good! Perfect for a cold day! The boyfriend love it. Definitely will keep this in my winter menu !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Everyone but Matthew liked this soup. I'd make it earlier in the day and let the flavors meld together more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe! I also boiled a ham hock for an hour in broth, then used that as the base. I used two cream corn cans and one whole kernel. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarcieRB
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Big hit! Easy recipe and yummy! Added a bag of frozen corn and some shrimp the second time I made it. Will be using this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Holy Moly this is OUTSTANDING!!! Followed the recipe (doubled it actually, we like left overs) - but substituted chicken broth for water - WOW!! An instant family favorite!! Super easy and SUPER delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McHugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
First, I caramelized 3/4 of a large yellow onion in country crock butter spread (about 4-10 teaspoons) on medium high heat, enough to prevent onion from sticking to bottom of soup pot. I caramelized thoroughly – past the point of tender to the point of a smoky brown color and smell. Then I added in the 4 medium peeled and chopped (I used Idaho Russet) potatoes and 3 peeled and diced small to medium sized organic (I used Trader Joe’s brand) carrots. I added in some more butter spread to prevent sticking when sautéing the potatoes, carrots and onions. I sautéed the caramelized onion, potatoes and carrots for 10-15 minutes on medium heat. Then I added in 2 cups of warm water, 1 chicken bouillon cube, ½ cup of McCormick’s fake bacon bits and 2 (14.5 oz.) cans of cream style corn. I omitted the salt & pepper since I like my chowder sweet. I brought the chowder to a brief boil and then turned to “low” (2-3). I simmered for 40 mins or more, stirring occasionally. When the potatoes were tender – I used an immersion hand blender to briefly blend the now tender chunks of potatoes and carrots. I substituted the half and half by adding 2 tablespoons of the butter spread and 2 cups of 2% milk. I served the chowder with chopped green onion, oyster crackers and a dash of cayenne pepper to give it a little zing. It tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States