Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great for hurricane weather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Wow!this corn chowder tastes exactly like the one I ate in elementary. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe produces a creamy and rich corn chowder. It's great as is or with embellishments. I added 3 ears of fresh corn, chicken broth instead of water and just one cup of half and half. No bacon but did have some organic bacon drippings for sautéing. I used a Cuisinart immersion blender on approx. 1 cup of the soup and added it back in before adding the half and half. This method always produces a creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Making it for the 2nd time this week!! Everyone loves it! I make it exactly to recipe but also add a can of regular sweet corn and chicken broth instead of water! FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Arsenault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Yummy and easy for this novice cook. I peeked at some of the others recipes since I don't eat meat and used 1/2 c of coconut oil and 2 tsp of thyme for extra flavor. I'm making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Was extremely good.. I to added chicken stock instead of water. I also added 4 cloves of garlic and mushrooms. While cooking the potatoes n such I also added about 1/2 of margerine.. Goes very well with my grand mothers buttermilk bisquits as well :) I also used all the bacon grease I had left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Moffatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this recipe last night. I changed a couple of things. I used 3 cans of creamed corn, and I used butter in place of bacon fat and I used 1/2 water & 1/2 chicken stock.This was the best corn chowder I have ever made & better than any restaurant.Try it you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! I used chicken broth instead of water as well, and switched out one potato for a sweet potato. Added extra color and flavor! Approved my all my flatmates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This soup was absolutely fabulous before I added the half and half. It was much more flavorful and thicker like I prefer my soups to be. After I added the half and half I immediately regretted it. Will be making this again. Also, my modifications included adding a chopped cooked chicken breast which I cooked in the bacon grease after cooking the bacon and I added four green onions instead of a whole diced onion. I added more than two tablespoons of the bacon grease as well. Again, would only add maybe half a cup of half and half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Great corn chowder recipe. I gave it four stars only because I did make some changes that other have mentioned that I believe made it a bit better than the recipe as written. First of all, I doubled the bacon for my bacon loving husband. I did as others have mentioned... used chicken stock instead of water and I used two cans of creamed corn and one of regular corn that I did not drain. We really enjoyed this chowder and my husband and son both requested that I make it again. I think this is a very versatile recipe that you could experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States