Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was my first time making chowder and it came out fabulous.. my family loved it. I used chicken stock in place of water.. I added the half and half as the recipe says.. I also used a little bit of corn starch mixed with milk to thicken it up a bit. I used cracked black pepper and sea salt to taste. It an easy,delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very good! I puréed the whole batch because I needed a no chewing meal. This did the trick beautifully!! Iwonder how much better it would have been if I had remembered to put the 1/2 & 1/2 in at the end!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Loved this recipe! I used the whole pound of bacon and fried the potatoes and onions in all the drippings. I then added 2 cans creamed corn and 1 bag frozen to a crock pot, adding the potatoes. Cooked on low for several hours. I sauteed some crab meat, shrimp and bay scallops in butter on the side for the adults. Just before serving, a made a roux with butter, flour and evaporated milk and added that to the soup. I placed the seafood in a bowl and topped it with the corn chowder. The kids enjoyed just the chowder. It was a huge hit. Next time I will serve in bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaWicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I changed this up a little, I stew a chicken then use the broth instead of water and tear the chicken up and add at the end. Also add mushrooms with the other vegetables. We love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have always wanted to make corn chowder and came upon this recipe, I had to try it. It was so yummy, my husband and kids ate it up! Great flavor and perfect for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was a decent corn chowder, although I think it needed a bit more flavor. Like another reviewer, I also added a butter/flour roux to make it thicker so it was more chowder-like. I think this would be great to make when corn is in season so it would have that sweeter, fresher taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I spent my childhoods camping with my family and their friends, their friend always made this amazing corn chowder. It taste exactly like hers did to a T it's excellent quick and cheap on a budget for the whole meal I paid 12.03 it fed my family of four with left overs! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Bayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Simar
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I added fresh thyme and sage alone with using chicken broth instead if water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Thanks for a great recipe! I used homemade chicken stock, and 1 can evaporated milk instead of half/half. Thickened it a bit with 2T cornstarch as we like that consistency. Really flavorful, and was a hit for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIKALA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Make a day ahead of time & the flavors will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States