Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Loved this stuffing. This Thanksgiving was my first attempt at making stuffing after watching my mom do it for years. I added one pack of pork ground sausage after frying it into crumbles, then I cooked the celery and onions in the leftover fat. Other than that, no changes made. I am official.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very great recipe.... I have used this one for over 16 years. To liven it up a little and since it has celery, onion, I only use 1 1/ 4 cups of broth and add a whole can of cream of mushroom soup and 4 oz of sour cream mixed together, reserving the rest of the broth to add in case it is to dry. Give it a try.. Its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I add a couple of chopped up hard boild eggs as well... Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've been trying to duplicate my mom's recipe but she doesn't follow one.Just a little bit of this and that. But now here's a recipe with exact measurements! Thank you Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I think this is a great recipe for a beginner!!! I only used the same ingredients, in the same amounts. I only added the sage to the cornbread ( a suggestion from a friend. I added turkey necks ( something my family always did). I boiled the necks, with salt and pepper. Instead of chicken stock (Oh I guess I did change something), I used the broth from the Turkey. I took the meat off the bones, and just added it for taste. My first time making dressing. It came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Tasty, but pasty! I must have done something wrong. This never set up. After 30 minutes of cooking it was still soupy. After 2 1/2 hours it was still pasty. The flavor was quite good, but since I have no idea what I did wrong, I won't make it again. Looking for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was delicious! I did use the Jiffy brand corn muffin mix, but made 2 boxes of that instead of one. Increased the celery/onions to about 1 1/2 cups total. Used 3 eggs and cut back on the sage to 1 teaspoon. Used approx. 3 cups of chicken stock. Turned out great and everyone loved it! Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this today as part of our Thanksgiving meal. Everyone one loved it! I used 2 boxes 8.5oz of Jiffy cornbread mix & used 1 tbl. of rubbed sage. I wasn't sure how much sage to add because I didn't know the difference between dried sage & rubbed sage. I found out all "rubbed" means is that it is crumbled. Next time I make it I will add Jimmy Deans sage sausage. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Used this recipe this year. Made my cornbread with stone ground corn meal and no sugar. No changes other than seasoning to taste.. and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing! This was exactly the taste of dressing from my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for a small get together. I added a little more sage,a cup of shredded chicken breast, the rest of the corn bread, and an additional quarter cup broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States